Santana – Welcome

2 Jun

Santana - Welcome DS388f front

Album info

Release: DS388f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

14 Responses to “Santana – Welcome”

  1. Matt Eastwood June 19, 2014 at 16:27 #

    Alreday have a conversion of this that sounds really good. This is a great album with an outstanding mix. I agree, it’s unusual for Santana, a departure of sorts from the sound they started out with. Very enjoyable throughout, though!

    If you can ever get your hands on the quad mix on “Festival” (1977), I’ll be deeply grateful! It’s not a very good mix, but the music and sound quality is great and the only conversion of it that I could find has lots of sound problems.

    • oxforddickie June 19, 2014 at 17:58 #

      I’d be interested in a comparison between the two. As to Festival, i have it and it’ll be out in due course.

      • Matt Eastwood June 20, 2014 at 17:26 #

        I’ll be happy to do an A/B, though I am not the best judge when it comes to sonic details. I’ll be happy to share the conversion I have with you (as FLAC files), or alternately, I’ll send you a donation for your version. Let me know! And: can’t wait for Festival. 🙂

        • oxforddickie June 21, 2014 at 09:00 #

          Email sent

          • Matt Eastwood June 21, 2014 at 17:54 #

            Thanks, OD, for sending me the torrent for this “Welcome”!

            I did an A/B between the conversion I already have and OD’s new transfer from SQ LP. First, a few words about the one I already had:

            I am not entirely sure where I got it and what media it’s from. I went through my usual sources and found two versions out there; one is another SQ LP transfer while the other one is from Q8. I am almost 100% certain I have the Q8 conversion, and if so, it was done in 2005 bei Neil Wilkes. For the purpose of this comparison, we’ll assume that’s the one.

            The immediate first impression is that OD’s transfer is brighter in sound and a little louder than the one by Neil. Neil’s has more bass, while OD’s is overall more dynamic. I feel like there’s a stronger presence in OD’s transfer: the sounds are more defined and come out stronger, but it sacrifices some of the Q8’s softness and warmth. Separation is clear and distinct in both cases; I couldn’t make out any particular difference.

            I need to give both versions more spins, but for now, if I were to make a decision as to which to keep, I think I’d stick with the Q8. I think they’re both very nice in their own right (in fact, fortunately, except for Festival, all the Santanas I have are of outstanding quality), but I tend to prefer the smoother, warmer sound that many tapes have in comparison to their brighter, more dynamic vinyl counterparts.

            Thanks again to OD for sharing this great album and doing such a fine job with it! I started collecting music in surround just a few years ago and have never had any experience with actual vintage quad material; all I have to go by are transfers like these two, made by the committed fans out there. After all is said and done, my amateur ears are more than happy 🙂

  2. Owen Smith June 14, 2014 at 22:30 #

    Rather different to the other Santana releases on the blog, in that this one doesn’t feature electric guitar all that prominently. It’s OK and I enjoyed this, but I prefer the usual guitar lead Santana sound.

    • sacdtodvda June 15, 2014 at 10:57 #

      While I enjoyed this more than Caravanserai, I think the parts I enjoyed the most were where the sound back drifted towards the Latin rock sound and Carlos’ guitar. The long percsussion break worked better on this album than on Caravanserai, and the mix seemed a bit more adventurous.

      Some of the male vocals were a bit grating, especially the backup vocals on one of the earlier tracks. Perhaps they didn’t stand out so much in the stereo mix.

      • oxforddickie June 15, 2014 at 11:08 #

        Strange you should mention about the vocals possibly not being so noticeable in the stereo mix. I was thinking something similar while listening to a new decode the other day. If quad has a draw back, it’s when it comes to having to spread the mix out, it can often lay bare some areas of the performance that would have normally gone unnoticed.

        But then that’s also part of the fun, especially when things that weren’t including in the original stereo mix turn up in the quad mix, for better or worse!

        • sacdtodvda June 15, 2014 at 13:38 #

          I agree, There’s hidden gems, there’s pleasant surprises, and there’s the odd “what were they thinking?” moments.

          • oxforddickie June 15, 2014 at 13:49 #

            Ah, i have one of those “what where they thinking/on” decodes on the hard-drive. I still can’t decide what to do with it. Oneday… perhaps….

  3. tarkus2013 June 5, 2014 at 16:26 #

    I’d like to know the answer to that as well since Mirage is a favorite off that album (Barboletta). Thanks.

  4. romanotrax June 2, 2014 at 22:46 #

    Just finished downloading and took a quick listen and, as usual, it sounds great!!

  5. joeerand June 2, 2014 at 22:17 #

    Here’s another unusual one I never expected to see. I seem to recall guitar solos bouncing back and forth between the speakers…or was that on Santana’s “Barboletta” album? (That’s another one I’d love to hear decoded.) Thank you!

Leave a Reply

