Chicago – III

25 Apr

Chicago - III DS375f front

Withdrawn due to pending reissue

Click for a review of this album

Release: DS375f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

16 Responses to “Chicago – III”

  1. David Azevedo July 17, 2014 at 02:47 #

    Very nice! My first download from this blog. Your talents are superb! Thank you!

  2. rockyofpittsburgh June 23, 2014 at 01:51 #

    I bought this SQ record when it was first released. What I was hearing was not quadrophonic. I got so disappointed in SQ that I stopped buying them, and traded the ones I bought.

    THIS is quadrophonic. I can’t believe it’s the same record!

  3. Owen Smith May 4, 2014 at 15:26 #

    Varied musically, and varied in how much I liked it. I didn’t find any of this particularly thrilling, but a few tracks were OK. The quad decode is excellent, the opening of the first track clearly has an instrument in each one of the four speakers.

  4. tarkus2013 May 2, 2014 at 10:41 #

    BTW, Chicago II by any chance?

    • oxforddickie May 2, 2014 at 10:58 #

      Most certainly, didn’t mean to release them out of order, but…….

  5. tarkus2013 May 2, 2014 at 10:40 #

    Chicago III was sort of the beginning of the end of the really good stuff, but it had some damn fine music on it. I have always loved Sing A Mean Tune… and even some of the good vocal harmony tunes as well. But on to this quad – man, it rocks steady. Playing it to death and give thanks to the man, O.D.

  6. gleeksmirt7 May 2, 2014 at 05:36 #

    I wish this Chicago III quad mix could have been taken from a quad 8 track tape. The channel separation on quad LPS are pretty disappointing sometimes. The first 5 albums from Chicago are the cream of the cop of their recording output in my opinion. I almost gagged when I heard Stone of “Sissyfuss” – the song “Sleeping In The Middle Of The Bed? Chicago does rap??? Geeez Give me a break…. I’ll stick with the early stuff.

    • birdycat19 August 18, 2014 at 04:50 #

      I have conversions of the III/VI/VII/VIII Q8’s and they’re just stunning.

  7. joeerand April 27, 2014 at 06:34 #

    Thank you. I enjoy the Chicago releases.

    • oxforddickie April 27, 2014 at 08:59 #

      I really enjoyed this myself. I have a great fondness to this period of the band, it’s a shame they don’t return, even partially, to the long ‘suites’, shows the band talent and versatility. Also the mix is pretty well done, altogether enjoyable.

      • sacdtodvda April 27, 2014 at 13:16 #

        They attempted a return to to a longer theme with the album Stone of Sisyphus, recorded in 1993 and scheduled to be Chicago XXII, but rejected at the last minute by the record company and not released until 2008 as Chicago XXXII (!).

        They might be a bit shy about trying that again, even on their own label.

  8. jaypfunk April 26, 2014 at 14:55 #

    Hi OD… any chance of Chicago VII seeing a release?

    • oxforddickie April 26, 2014 at 15:13 #

      All of the Chicago quad releases will be done, it’s just there aren’t enough hours in the day….

  9. zaphod2359 April 26, 2014 at 02:02 #

    Looking forward to this!Thank You!

Leave a Reply

