Original Soundtrack – Funny Girl

17 Apr

Original Soundtrack - Funny Girl DS372f front

For those interested in the differences between the stereo and quad mixes of an album, this page lists them for this release.

Release: DS372f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

7 Responses to “Original Soundtrack – Funny Girl”

  1. Matt Eastwood June 19, 2014 at 14:25 #

    It’s funny. The first Streisand album I checked out was “Barbra Joan Streisand”, which you posted years ago. And I LOVED it. I have since given this one and “The Way we Were” a shot, but I just cannot warm up to them. Thanks, though, for making this available – it is clearly a popular release! 🙂

  2. bigheadrascal June 17, 2014 at 21:27 #

    This was a most pleasant surprise! I was unaware it had ever been released in quad. I have the stereo vinyl. I haven’t played it in years because I haven’t connected my turntable in years (assuming it would even still run). So I can’t make any comparison between the stereo and quad mixes. Glad to have this quad release!

  3. ringadingbat May 7, 2014 at 00:10 #

    Thanks for this. I look forward to listening to it. (Also, don’t want to appear ungrateful, but I feel I should point out that she spells her name “Barbra” — minus the second “a”.) Thanks again.

  4. Owen Smith April 26, 2014 at 13:25 #

    Despite my dislike of previous Streisand offerings, that’s not my problem with this release. Indeed Streisand is quite good here, I suspect because it’s not her in charge of how the music sounds. My problem is it’s a soundtrack, I just don’t get on with the format very well for musicals. The quality is fine, it’s just the songs don’t sit well isolated from the story they were meant for.

    Technically, I’ve spotted a couple of bad cases of post echo, probably print through on the master tape. There’s little OD can do about this, once it’s happened the damage is in the master. The quad on this is mostly classical style ambience, but good with it.

    • oxforddickie April 26, 2014 at 13:44 #

      yea, i found that echo annoying, but as you say there’s nothing that can be done. it doesn’t spoil the album though, and i’d like to say i’m not a Srteisand fan either, but i found this an enjoyable listen. There are others to be done, one can only hope they are as enjoyable….

      • quadsome April 29, 2014 at 14:28 #

        Columbia used that echo on every one of her quad releases…done in my opinion to somehow enhance the effect of the bad front/rear SQ decoder separation of the day. It did throw a bit more into the back channels with all that ambiance, but impaired several outstanding vocal performances. As far as quad separation, the Stoney End album is the best of the bunch…with Lazy Afternoon by far the worst with nothing interesting going on in the rear channels and at times, a very distorted lead vocal. Keep up the great work and dialogue!

Leave a Reply

