Kimiko Kasai with Gil Evans Orchestra – Satin Doll

3 Mar

Kimiko Kasai with Gil Evans Orchestra - Satin Doll  DS355f front

A Japanese only release which unusually was released in Stereo & Quad versions

Release: DS355f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

3 Responses to “Kimiko Kasai with Gil Evans Orchestra – Satin Doll”

  1. Owen Smith March 6, 2014 at 19:29 #

    Audible wallpaper to me I’m afraid. I didn’t notice the uninspiring solos, I wasn’t paying enough attention. Still, it was something different to listen to while browsing the web.

  2. quadro2013 March 4, 2014 at 16:20 #

    I’m very curious! Thank You again!

  3. tarkus2013 March 4, 2014 at 15:54 #

    I get excited anytime I see the song “Satin Doll” so maybe my expectations for the music here were too high?

    The quad is in great shape on this recording and the use of little strange sound effects thrown in by the artist are highlighted nicely. And I like the singing voice of Kimiko! But. Hokey Smokes, these are the most uninspired trumpet and sax solos I have ever heard. It sounds like the players are falling asleep while trying to get the notes out. When you hear them in quad, it just makes the playing worse!

    All that said, as with all music, it is interesting to hear something off the beaten path. And painful sometimes as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

