Runrig – The Cutter & The Clan

17 Feb

Runrig - The Cutter & The Clan DS350f front

Release: DS350f

Source: UHJ CD

Process: UHJ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

8 Responses to “Runrig – The Cutter & The Clan”

  1. Sleep Deprivation May 24, 2014 at 12:35 #

    Wow, OD!! Just started listening, and after only track 2, this is love! Excellent separation, beautiful music and the fact that this is from a decade thin on surround mixes make this a treasure. Thanks so much!

    • Matt Eastwood June 19, 2014 at 14:32 #

      Quick note, I changed my name back to “Matt Eastwood” quickly after posting the above. I had temporarily changed it when experimenting with a blog.

  2. gjwAudio April 27, 2014 at 21:48 #

    Hi OD

    Just listened to this record again…very enjoyable music. “Heraldic” is a word that comes to mind.

    Thank you so much for bringing Rinrig to my attention – without you (and the DS Archive) I’d never have discovered them. I love their production style; it’s all about the vocals as Owen said, and they’re not afraid of swimming in the reverb tank ! Splish-splash all around the room.

    I’m amazed that anybody in the recording business even considered Ambisonics for something other than traditional orchestral music – surround sound for a “popular” release in 1987 ? God Bless them for their optimism !

    Are their other UHJs from these guys ? I’d love to hear more.

    Thanks again for keeping the wonder of discovery alive in this little corner of the www 🙂

    • oxforddickie April 27, 2014 at 22:00 #

      Many thanks for the comments. There were two released in UHJ, the other was a live album, that is planned to be done

  3. Owen Smith February 20, 2014 at 19:02 #

    Very nice, I love the vocals on this. The rest of the band support well, but this is definitely lead by the vocals.

    Interestingly, the ambisonics on this and a previous couple of the UHJ albums are working for me, when previously it wasn’t so good espcially the rears. They’re integrating into a nice cohesive soundfile now. The last two tracks of this album show this particularly well. I wonder is it possible that I’ve learned how to hear the ambisonics? Before anyone asks, I have made no changes at all to my system or the room it is in.

    • sacdtodvda February 23, 2014 at 05:51 #

      I enjoyed the vocals as well – particularly the couple of tracks sung in Gaelic.

    • Steven Southerden Dive October 25, 2014 at 13:24 #

      Just wondering, are you using an ambisonic decoder or something else? Full soundfield reconstruction can’t happen properly without using one.

      I will be getting a copy of this album to add to my ambi UHJ collection, having listened to a few Runrig tracks recently.

      I have had ambi decoders for over 25 years so always on the lookout for new UHJ or even B-format material.

      • oxforddickie October 25, 2014 at 13:43 #

        A newbie i guess? I no longer have any hardware decoders but rely on my own created process’s to decode these albums (i feel i’m repeating here, best read the blog pages).
        There are a small number of ways of software decoding UHJ material, my process sticks rigidly to the official decoding algorithm.

Leave a Reply

