The Edgar Winter Group – They Only Come Out At Night

5 Feb

The Edgar Winter Group - They Only Come Out At Night DS344f front

Release: DS344f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ/II



16 Responses to “The Edgar Winter Group – They Only Come Out At Night”

  1. John February 20, 2016 at 22:02 #

    Oh I LOVE how these quad recordings really use the rear speakers. You know which track I went to first, right? And initially I wondered if there was anything in the front. And there was. Frankenstein – what a great track, and how brilliant it sounds in quad. Sitting right in the middle of the drum solo is so enjoyable! And the rest of the album is great in quad too – e.g. Free Ride. Sometimes (e.g. Joe Walsh’s Smoker) I feel the music loses a bit of its body in quad – but not at all on this one. Classic 70 s rock sound. Doesn’t Undercover Man sound like Alice Cooper more than a bit? An excellent transfer!

  2. tenbeersbold February 21, 2014 at 11:58 #

    Thanks for this OD! ‘Nother one of my request list scratched off.

    But is it just me or does this transfer seem a bit slow,the pitch sounds like its dragging just a little.

    Plus this has some different vocal tracks than the original or maybe the decode highlights ones that were buried before?? Check out the chorus for When It Comes,there’s some truly strained almost BAD vocals on the chorus that pop out in the quad that I honestly never heard before.

    Thanks again for gettin’ it to us OD

    • oxforddickie February 21, 2014 at 12:16 #

      Well i’m not sure about it ‘dragging’, anyone else have a view?

      As to the mix, quad mixes can sometimes be quite different from the stereo mixes, there are often added (or even missing!) instruments or vocals with the quad versions of albums.

    • Owen Smith February 21, 2014 at 14:25 #

      The speed sounded fine to me, but that’s listening to it in isolation. I’ve never heard this album before on any format.

  3. tarkus2013 February 13, 2014 at 16:42 #

    Just did a side by side with your other release. Again, it is like a different recording…so clean. I agree with Owen on the drum solo. That and the moog just bring a big grin as it goes around and around. I swear, it is like sitting at the drum set! Surely this is what the band intended. Thanks!!!

    • oxforddickie February 13, 2014 at 16:49 #

      You know, it’s comments like this that makes me feel the time i’ve spent on the decoding processes has been well worth it. For far too long i’ve tolerated poor quality decodes, and am pleased others are as happy with the results of the **/II processes as i am

      • tarkus2013 February 13, 2014 at 17:32 #

        I would encourage everyone to take the time to do a comparison of releases, at least now and then, just to really hear what is going to with your new process. To me, it is like going from speakers to headphones in the sense that you always hear new things to appreciate; instruments, arrangements, little asides and so on. And when it really comes together on such a well produced record such as this one…well, keep getting the word out, please. Your blog is nothing short of amazing.

      • Owen Smith February 14, 2014 at 12:02 #

        So what is the old release number? I thought I recognised the artwork, but I couldn’t find any other release in a quick search.

        • oxforddickie February 14, 2014 at 12:16 #

          It was in the early days of the blog, and not one of my releases, i think it might have been one of AOQ’s.

        • Owen Smith February 14, 2014 at 13:22 #

          Ah, that’ll be why I can’t find it even on the previous blog. It also explains why I have a recollection of the artwork.

          • oxforddickie February 14, 2014 at 13:26 #

            I’ll be honest, that period is a little hazy but i do remember making a few old titles from the early days available again while there were still seeds, and slowly removed them when i got complaints there were no active seeds.

          • tarkus2013 February 14, 2014 at 15:58 #

            Yep, same artwork appears on the screen, but there doesn’t seem to be any number associated with the release in question. I dug out my back up drive (Do I back up this stuff? Yes, yes I sure do). I will, of course, be deleting and replacing with the new one. I already did this on my heard drive. Let me know if you want me to up load the old one. My service is slow, but I’d be glad to do anything I can.

            • oxforddickie February 14, 2014 at 16:21 #

              Thanks for the offer but i don’t think it is needed now.

  4. Owen Smith February 8, 2014 at 17:18 #

    This is great, just the sort of rock I like. Fantastic mix and great transfer as admsh says. Good use of rear speakers without gimmickry. Also, I really love the drum solo in track 10.

  5. admsh February 7, 2014 at 00:02 #

    Beautiful transfer and awesome mix. I’m discovering this music all over again. Thank you so much.

  6. Owen Smith February 6, 2014 at 01:12 #

    I could swear I’ve seen that artwork before on this blog. Of course I can’t now find it, maybe I saw it somewhere else.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: