Dolly Parton – Bubbling Over

26 Jan

Dolly Parton - Bubbling Over - CB011 frontLink

“A lot of things can be said about Dolly Parton and bubbling over is definitely one of them. This is a fun album to listen to and has that classic Nashville sound that only the RCA studios on music row could deliver. A shame that is all gone now as progress visited Nashville. Whenever I pass through Sevierville I glance over at the bigger than life statue of Dolly on the courthouse lawn. Enjoy CB

Release: CB011

Source: Q4

Format: DVD-AV  MLP/DTS/DD

14 Responses to “Dolly Parton – Bubbling Over”

  1. birdycat19 July 30, 2015 at 06:12 #

    A belated thank you for this wonderful title! Dolly is the best.

  2. Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) May 2, 2015 at 10:08 #

    Slightly late to the party on this one – but what a great album, from a great artist and a lovely transfer too. Thank you CB. I would very much like to respectfully request more of this kind of female vocal country on here. I know the pool available is likely to be small, but it would make me very happy at least! It’s a shame none of Linda Ronstadt’s material was released in Quad – her early stuff is particularly enjoyable.

  3. showbizkid2013 February 11, 2014 at 16:49 #

    First of all, THANK YOU for the Dolly! This is one of those rare titles that seems never to be converted because there’s so much emphasis on other styles of music. I really appreciate seeing this title done up, as it’s a great one and – hey – it’s vintage Dolly!

    Regarding the bit-depth argument, here’s a great article by a pro-sound engineer that I found a few months back. It does a very good job of explaining why higher is not necessarily better:

    http://www.sonicscoop.com/2013/08/29/why-almost-everything-you-thought-you-knew-about-bit-depth-is-probably-wrong/

    • captainbeyond55 February 14, 2014 at 16:45 #

      You expressing your joy for this Dolly release puts a big smile on my face. It is the reason I do this, so others will enjoy too. She is a fine lady and a local hero. Thanks showbizkid2013 for your comment and the interesting link.

  4. jamoke January 29, 2014 at 01:41 #

    With a TOTAL running time of 24:16, this is a really quick listen. Wondering what the shortest album was?

  5. Owen Smith January 27, 2014 at 16:22 #

    I really enjoyed this. Quad mix is quite active and appropriate to the music, and Dolly’s singing voice is fantastic as ever. I don’t think I’ve ever heard Dolly sing badly, but this us really great.

    Sound quality is superb as you’d expect for a Q4 source. I note this is 24/48 whereas some of the Captain’s previous Q4s have been 24/96. Personally I have nothing against 48Khz sampling rate, I’m just curious as to what criteria you use Captain to decide the sampling rate for Q4s. Tape speed perhaps?

    • captainbeyond55 January 28, 2014 at 04:24 #

      Fair question Owen. The answer is somewhat embarrassing. First I must tell you that ‘m glad that you enjoyed Dolly Bubbling Over. She sure is a fine lady. Now all the commercial Q4 tapes that I have been exposed to have been recorded at 7.5 IPS. So tape speed has not been a factor. This title was captured to digital format some long months ago probably at 96/32. (I should keep records but don’t) Very recently those raw files were processed into the DVD-A offered here at 48/24 resolution. Why? Because I have converted mostly Q8’s lately and just failed to change the resolution settings in the several software programs used while processing this Q4 title. Simply human error criteria excluded.

      I’m sure we are all aware of the mountains of talk concerning resolution and all the debates over what is correct. The old argument that the more points plotted on a graph the more accurately the image will be rendered seems logical. How do I explain my criteria for choosing resolution? Take advice from those more knowledgeable than myself and use the following common sense guidelines. My ear perceives the Q4 to sound higher in overall quality compared to the Q8 so higher in = higher out. Use higher resolution. Again my ear perceives the Q8 to sound lower in quality compared to the Q4 so lower in = lower out. Use lower resolution. Seems to work and make sense. You really can’t make something out of what you don’t have and there is no reason to enhance limitations. Finally I must admit that my ear is not logical nor does it perform as a critical listening device. In its vintage condition it does not even perceive any noticeable difference when comparing 96 to 48. Thankfully however it does perceive and enjoy a good toe tapper when presented.

    • Owen Smith January 28, 2014 at 12:51 #

      Ah, old fashioned human error on the sample rate. Fair enough, I was just intrigued.

      I found this web page interesting, explaing why 24/192 is actually detrimental in most systems due to ultrasonic aliasing. Also explains sampling theory a bit:

      http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

      I also like the test tones and noise shaping explanantions on here, also has sampling theory explanations:

      http://www.audiocheck.net/

  6. joeerand January 27, 2014 at 07:33 #

    Thank you CB & OD!

  7. oxforddickie January 26, 2014 at 21:18 #

    Have just changed the source from Q8 to Q4

    • Owen Smith January 26, 2014 at 21:23 #

      Ah. I was thinking why use a Q8 since CD-4 would give much better quality, but a Q4 on the other hand should be better even than a CD-4.

  8. Owen Smith January 26, 2014 at 20:47 #

    I’m guessing from the artwork this was also available as a CD-4?

    • oxforddickie January 26, 2014 at 20:56 #

      Yes it was: APDI-0286

    • captainbeyond55 January 26, 2014 at 21:43 #

      The artwork you see here was cropped from the Q4 package as RCA did use the Quadradisc logo on their Q4 releases. Must have paid a lot of cash to develop it and were very proud to display it. Even if it came in a plain brown wrapper I would still enjoy the music. Hope you folks do too.

Leave a Reply

