The Captain Matchbox Whoopee Band – Smoke Dreams

11 Jan

Captain Matchbox Whoopee Band - Smoke Dreams DS335f front

Released in stereo in the bands homeland Australia, the album was remixed in quad for it’s American release and was quite possibily one of the last of a small number of DY encoded albums released.

Release: DS335f

Source: DY LP

Process: DY/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

7 Responses to “The Captain Matchbox Whoopee Band – Smoke Dreams”

  1. Derek Gally January 19, 2015 at 21:21 #

    You’re welcome.Now over to “CHAT” for a little more DYNAQUAD 4-D info

  2. Derek Gally January 18, 2015 at 17:40 #

    This is one of about fifteen or so discs I found for inclusion to Larry Clifton’s Quad Supplement I found it in a used record shop. Being a bit a quad sleuth. This set me on a path to see if ESP Disc released any more quads and a couple years later my search paid off! The title Pleasure Pudding Sweet Pie “Livid at Fat City” (Rig/Esp Disk 2004) released in 1972(well at least the concert date states Oct 72). Indicates on the reverse in the upper right corner disc # and ” STEREO + QUAD” . I would assume DY matrix as the other disc was. Amazing what a little search and close observance to quad reference does in locating previous ly unknown quads in used record stores will net! Also back in the 80’s I found a clearly marked DYNAQUAD disc on the K L Recording Service label “Andy Justman-Firemans Polka +other delights” KLP 31. Date 73. This record labels plans to issue DY discs and Quad reels was mentioned in a 71 issue of Audio magazine (US). But the music is all polkas and waltzs that they offered. Not my gendre. Anyway I guess the point I’m trying to get across is that DY-4d matrix was more common than previously known.

    • oxforddickie January 18, 2015 at 20:56 #

      Very interesting and thanks for that information. i guess i need to add them to my hunting list.

  3. rayc2 January 16, 2014 at 10:18 #

    I have the stereo LP and now I’ll have a super quad version. It’s a classic from the band who were always quirky. the lead singer did a kids perfromance at my school a couple of years back – he signed the LP for me too!
    Thanks again OD.

  4. Owen Smith January 12, 2014 at 11:34 #

    Interesting and a fun listen. A bit “off the wall” I’d say, probably not something I’ll listen to again. But it certainly made me smile.

  5. sacdtodvda January 12, 2014 at 04:54 #

    Thanks so much for this gem, OD.

    I believe this is the only quadraphonic release by an Australian popular music artist and an important piece of musical history – as well as a lot of fun.

    • oxforddickie January 12, 2014 at 09:50 #

      Very much so, and good to finally hear it in quad. The sound effects are very interesting, but the music is so different, and really enjoyable

Leave a Reply

