Barbra Streisand – The Way We Were

3 Jan

Barbara Streisand - The Way We Were  DS331f frontRelease: DS331f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

9 Responses to “Barbra Streisand – The Way We Were”

  1. mactwit January 19, 2017 at 19:50 #

    I’m definitely a Streisand fan, and this is the first recording I ever bought of hers, so I’m very familiar with it. I consider it a classic. Anyway, fun to listen to it now in quad! The arrangements are brought out to reveal things I hardly noticed before, and there’s lots going on all around. Sadly, La Streisand never moves! Static position all the way through, as though added after the fact, I’m afraid. Also, whenever the band gets loud, she gets drowned out, even though she’s obviously belting (which is something I’ve noticed previously on some other quad mixes) adding to the sense that she’s not integrated in the mix, but “pasted on”. Shame, but still a treat.

  2. bigheadrascal June 30, 2014 at 08:01 #

    It was not one of my favorite Barbra albums back in the day and I hadn’t listened to it in quite a long time. Still not a favorite, but I like it a lot better hearing it properly decoded. It sounded a mess on the crappy SQ rig I had so many years ago, but so did everything else.

  3. bigheadrascal June 28, 2014 at 00:47 #

    Sorry gang, but Babs could sing a Chinese menu and I’d listen. Somehow I missed this release. Is it too late to have a listen? Could “Stoney End” be somewhere in the blog’s future? I’d be ecstatic!

    • oxforddickie June 28, 2014 at 00:56 #

      It’s never too late… as to ‘Stoney End’ I think the album’s in the record cabinet, so one day……..

      • bigheadrascal June 28, 2014 at 01:08 #

        I’ll wait patiently, but in anticipation. 🙂

  4. ringadingbat January 21, 2014 at 00:18 #

    Yes, thanks! Not sure where I fall when it comes to marmite, but I like her — and this album in particular, which was in heavy rotation in my house growing up.

  5. Owen Smith January 11, 2014 at 17:39 #

    Not my thing at all. Yawn from start to finish I’m afraid, I kept expecting something interesting to happen and it never did. Oh well, clearly I don’t like Streisand.

    • oxforddickie January 12, 2014 at 09:54 #

      Yes, Streisand is like marmite, your eithr a fan or not, somewhat like Elvis and Cliff, i’d prefer Cliff anyday. Desperatly looking for the live Matrix H Cliff Richard concert (thought i’d throw that in).

  6. startrek1701 January 4, 2014 at 16:02 #

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

