Carl Orff – Carmina Burana

4 Dec

Carl Orff - Carmina Burana _ MTT  DS320f front

This is the version by Michael Tilson-Thomas with the Cleveland Orchestra & Chorus

Release: DS320f

Source: SQ CD

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

8 Responses to “Carl Orff – Carmina Burana”

  1. Owen Smith December 19, 2013 at 20:10 #

    This is a good version, better played than the previous release in my view (no brass section rushing to get to the bar). The only minor gripe I’d make about the performance is the opening could do with a bit more excitement.

    The quad seems unusual, parts of the orchestra seem to be to the sides of the listener unless I’m mistaken but I’m having a bit of trouble deciding exactly which sections are where. Triangle or small bells appeared to be behind me at one stage.

    A good release and a good version, thanks OD.

    • oxforddickie December 19, 2013 at 20:30 #

      I’ll do a re-issue of the Previn version in the new year so it can be decided which of the three is top dog

  2. Owen Smith December 5, 2013 at 21:23 #

    Doesn’t seem very popular, my download has stalled at 64% with just one seed and 3 peers not connecting. I’m sure the torrent will complete at some stage, they always do. I’m more disappointed at the low numbers seemingly downloading this.

    • oxforddickie December 5, 2013 at 21:35 #

      Yes, the least popular so far, which is a shame, certainly an interesting version compared the the one released previously and the Previn version. I’m still seeding, hopefully it’ll complete soon

    • Owen Smith December 5, 2013 at 21:39 #

      I think the problem is the release of the previous version. Unless you’re a real classical fan like myself, most people probably see no benefit in two different recordings of the same piece of music.

      You may be seeding but I have no connection to you, I’ve noticed before I often lose you partway through a torrent. I don’t know if it’s Virgin Media traffic shaping you or Tixati deciding I’ve had more than enough of the data for a while.

      • oxforddickie December 5, 2013 at 21:50 #

        Probably very true, but probably like you, i can find a lot in another version of a piece, you should see how many versions of Pictures…. i have.

        I have been considering returning to utorent, as long as they’ve solved the issues i was having with it

      • Owen Smith December 5, 2013 at 22:26 #

        I’m not sure much has been fixed in uTorrent. I stay with it largely because I’m familiar with it and it has a web UI that lets me remotely start new torrents from work, at my parents etc. Tixati has no web UI at all.

  3. Q! December 4, 2013 at 12:30 #

    Wonderful! This is what I was waiting for! Grat! Thank you very very much!

Leave a Reply

