Strauss – Don Quixote

29 Nov

Don Quixote DS81f-2 front

Release: DS81f-2

Source: SQ CD

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

5 Responses to “Strauss – Don Quixote”

  1. gulliverity December 22, 2013 at 09:15 #

    Could not disagree more with Owen. I found the piece to be lyrical and emotional, yet never dissonant. Rostropovich’s playing is sublime. I highly recommend listeners go on this journey with Don & Pancho!

    • oxforddickie December 22, 2013 at 10:33 #

      I think think this is one of those pieces you like or don’t like.

    • Owen Smith December 22, 2013 at 11:47 #

      Absolutely, almost certainly a Marmite in the world of music (and for the record I don’t like Marmite either).

  2. Owen Smith December 16, 2013 at 15:18 #

    Just beyond my threshold of what I consider to be music I’m afraid. There are occasional good bits but I find most of this just noise. I like Also Sprach Zarathustra (all of it not just the opening) and I like Rite of Spring so I’d say these two peg quite nicely where my like of modern classical music ends and turns into “what the?”. It seems well enough played and quad is conventional for classical, they’re not the problem.

  3. Anonymous May 29, 2011 at 16:47 #

    Something special again – THX

Leave a Reply

