Laurie Johnson & LSSO – North By Northwest

11 Oct

Release: DS63f-2

Source: UHJ  CD

Proccess: UHJ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

15 Responses to “Laurie Johnson & LSSO – North By Northwest”

  1. steelykev June 16, 2014 at 16:56 #

    Fantastic album! I wish there were more Bernard Herrmann scores in quad, as his soundtracks – particularly his collaborations with Alfred Hitchcock (e.g. Vertigo and Psycho)- are so beautiful and dynamic that they could easily stand on their own, IMO; the fact that they additionally evoke the memories of the film they’re from is icing on the cake. The sound on this transfer is beautifully rich – I’m relatively new to the world of quad, but I don’t hear anything “fancy” in the mix – just wonderful ambient sounds that envelopes you. Highly recommended – thanks so much for the transfer!!!

  2. Owen Smith October 19, 2013 at 14:32 #

    Some good music here, I like the dark atmospheric low woodwind sounds. I think there may be a bass clarinet in there. Also some lovely eerie strings with strange harmonies and chord progressions to keep you off balance and nervous all the time. There’s a nice low richness when all the strings are playing.

    The UHJ is following the pattern of the Anthea Gifford guitar release in that the front stereo image is much more coherent if I recline my sofa, at which point the front speakers almost disappear as point sources like they often do with SQ/II and QS/II decodes. The upwards firing rears are still not contributing much as a coherent soundspace, but it’s a lot less obvious that they are under performing than before since solo guitar is so much more revealing. I have just discovered while typing this on my iPad that leant forwards to type the front stereo image improves, so it may be more a case of ear height than position in the horizontal plane. Also here leant forwards the rears have become much more coherent, possibly because they are actually behind me. The only problem now is that bend nearly doubly leaned forward in the sofa is damned uncomfortable! I’ll see if I can find a low chair that I can park in front of the sofa to listen to UHJ releases on. A bean bag might do it except I don’t have one and they play havoc with my back.

    • oxforddickie October 19, 2013 at 14:38 #

      What we have to do in the name of music LOL

    • Owen Smith October 19, 2013 at 15:17 #

      I’m forming an initial impression that UHJ is too fussy about speaker placement and listening position. If it only works with a near ideal setup then it isn’t going to work for most people in the real world. I get better images from standard quad releases most of the time, and more to the point I can sit in my nice Zero-Stress leather recliners I bought recently to help with my bad back.

      Having said that, if UHJ is the only quad release we have of something then it’s better than not having it at all.

      • Steven Southerden Dive October 25, 2014 at 13:45 #

        Sorry, I am a bit late coming to this thread. Here goes:)

        Ambisonic recordings, UHJ or full B-format, require ambisonic decoders to work at their full potential on surround playback. Ambisonics is a soundfield reconstruction technique. UHJ is designed to be explicitly stereo compatible, but if you don’t have a decoder then the phase shifted part can be put through to rears with careful delay and level settings (e.g. A Dolby ProLogic decoder might work quite well). Usually, stereo playback with no rears gives the rear & side images projected forward with some spread of the virtual sources. This effect can give a somewhat over-reverberant effect with some recordings.

        Identical speakers front and rear work best, but using similar ones from the same design series should be pretty near as good. A regular rectanglar layout is also recommended.

  3. Owen Smith October 19, 2013 at 13:48 #

    The MLP layer is 48KHz sampling rate, which is a bit unusual since this came from CD. Usually the MLP is 44.1KHz for CD sourced releases. It’s not causing a problem the sound quality is OK, I’m just intrigued.

    • oxforddickie October 19, 2013 at 14:01 #

      It’s a function of the decoding. It appears that during the B-Format decoding the audio is in a basic condition, and as there was an option to save the output at different sample rates it chose 48K to save having to upsample it for DTS & DD

  4. zaphod2359 October 11, 2013 at 15:16 #

    Looking forward to this,one of my favorite films.

  5. OxfordDickie August 30, 2011 at 16:37 #

    I do feel the manufacturers should repress disc's are known to rot. We've payed good money for faulty product, sorry to hear you've lost too much. I really must have a look at my LD & CD collections

  6. Disclord August 30, 2011 at 16:30 #

    Glad you could recover the CD. I bought ABBA Greatest Hits Vol.2 on CD back in the summer of 1983 and it was a PDO pressing – by the late 80's, it was a gonner – it even turned a weird 'coffee stained' gold/brown color. And I have a PDO pressed LD from Germany that did the same weird 'staining' thing as it rotted.

    I've now lost a DVD to laser rot too – the first DVD pressing of Vertigo – it won't play on ANYTHING now – it can't even be read by a PC. It's one of the very early dual-layer DVD's made by Panasonic. When DVD came along, I had so thought the era of Laser Rot was over – I lost more than 200 LD's to it. I'm going to write Universal and see if they'll replace my Vertigo DVD – I tend to doubt it though considering I bought it in 1998.

    • startrek1701 October 11, 2013 at 18:00 #

      What causes laser rot? I still have a fairly large LD collection (stacked in a corner somewhere), but have never dealt with such.

      • oxforddickie October 12, 2013 at 09:08 #

        Basically, the disc’s are were badly manufacturered and is caused by oxidation of the reflective layer. The ‘North By Northwest’ CD was badly rotted (it had turned a burnt gold colour) and because i’d lost the original attempt at rescuing it, this time it took almost 90 hours for Exact Audio Copy to produce a useable copy of it.

  7. Anonymous March 2, 2011 at 10:26 #

    two days…wow
    fantastic work!

  8. floydophile March 2, 2011 at 05:45 #

    Nice & discrete sound! Well done, OD!

Leave a Reply

