State of play

30 Sep

In the past i’ve done a ‘how the blog’s going’ type of message. As it hits the big 300 things behind the scenes are starting to show the strain.

It takes a few computers to keep the blog going as it has done, but recently those computers have started to show the strain they have been under.

The old (very old) laptop i used for remote access, which allowed me to keep things going while elsewhere, died on me, which brought to an end that luxury. Now the workhorse computer is rapidly coming close to its final days, the ‘blue screen of death’ has become such a problem i can’t do any worthwhile work.

This means i’ve had to find a replacement, which i’ve picked up this morning, and i’m now setting it up to take over as the workhorse.

Basically, due to my situation, and the reason why the blog needed to go ‘donation’ based, there may be slightly more ‘donation’ releases to help cover the cost of the replacement computer, etc. I hope this is ok with you guys.

Here’s to the next hundred…………..

18 Responses to “State of play”

  1. rayc2 October 21, 2013 at 09:29 #

    I’m very happy to donate for the releases I want at the quality you offer.
    Speakers for cart.; wow, that’d’ve hurt.
    I really enjoy your work. I was actually pondering how to store them safely given the bushfire situation at present. I doubt my wife would allow me to put a couple of boxes of Quad DVDs in the evac plan box buty I will try.

  2. The Bright Side October 5, 2013 at 20:01 #

    Joining the choir! Thanks for being awesome, OD, and running this amazing blog. I’m ready to donate more 🙂

  3. quadro2013 October 5, 2013 at 19:24 #

    Your blog is so important for me, I really admire your work!
    So more donation releases are okay for me.

  4. sacdtodvda October 5, 2013 at 09:50 #

    I haven’t been around here so much of late, but I’m looking forward to making more donations to the cause! To hell with the naysayers!

  5. jaypfunk October 4, 2013 at 13:36 #

    Whoooooo hoooooooooo!! Bring on DS301f!!

  6. gulliverity October 3, 2013 at 02:22 #

    Why not make the donations £3? People need to stop being cheapskates and pay for the exquisite value you’re providing!

    • oxforddickie October 3, 2013 at 11:13 #

      At the time, much thought went into the donation amount, most people did suggest a higher amount, but i decided on the minimum amount as fair for all. Basically, and especially for those in a simular situation as myself, it is less than a pint, and although Paypal take their swipe at it, i figured at the time it would be enough.

      I will say now that i got it wrong, as only a small percentage of members actually partisipate. I guess people expect everything on the internet to be totally free. Well, that’s entirely up to them, isn’t it.

      I do actually say ‘Minimum donation’, and there are a couple of people who kindly send more than the minimum, which i must say here a big Thank You.

      So, it’s entirely up to the individual really, the minimum level stays as it is because i feel, in my situation, i could afford a title a week.

      When doing this ‘state of address’ i decided not to mention something that i was doing to try and increase the releases by adding CD-4 titles. Although i had a kind offer from Owen to help out, a couple of weeks ago i ended up selling a pair of speakers to fund the purchase of an Audio Technica AT440Mla cartridge. So that’s up and coming in the future.

      I know there have been rumblings elsewhere concerning this blog going to donation for some titles, but let me tell those here that are part of that. A fortune i certainly am not making!

      Right, finally got that off my chest. The computer is running smoothly, so back to work.

      Oh, just a little hint for DS301f, a freebie that i’m suspecting will be extremely popular…………

    • Owen Smith October 3, 2013 at 20:09 #

      Looking forward to some CD-4 releases with your super new cartridge, it certainly seems well thought of for CD-4 after a bit of googling.

      But to add to the anticipation, I believe CD-4 isn’t what OD is refering to for DS301f as indicated by the ‘f’ on the end which means it’s a matrix decode.

  7. tarkus2013 October 3, 2013 at 00:04 #

    I really like the “pay as you go” method since it suits my fiances better…harder to come up with larger lump sums as there is always something to drain the till before the donation gets made. Your donation method means I can keep you on the top of my list most all times. I find music more important than food, but not all in my household agree. That is probably a good thing. I guess. Maybe.
    Anyway, like the one person said, I held my breath when I first saw the announcement, but your news is not bad news at all. Where would we be without you? Nine Beethoven symphonies sort of a set for starters 🙂
    Take care. AND, Damn the Blue Screen of Death!! To Hell I say!
    Charles

  8. philbiker October 1, 2013 at 15:55 #

    Perfectly fine here as well. I try to do my part by hosting/streaming everything I download indefinitely. Thanks so much for keeping the life in these great (…and sometimes not so great but always interesting!) old multichannel mixes.

  9. joeerand October 1, 2013 at 07:58 #

    I think your donation schedule is very modest, and I’m happy to support either more frequent donations or a higher amount.

  10. lonky53 September 30, 2013 at 22:42 #

    I held my breath as I read your note.Would one of my worse internet fears come to pass, no more Dreaming Spires? Ahhhhh, I exhale more than willing to help defray your costs.
    Here’s to the next 100.

  11. zaphod2359 September 30, 2013 at 20:00 #

    Of COURSE that’s perfectly fine!

  12. Owen Smith September 30, 2013 at 19:46 #

    More donation releases is fine with me as I’m sure you can guess. I’ve also offered to donate towards specific items in the past and that offer still stands, though as ever I know you’ll turn it down.

    Since I’m in the same country as you I’ll bear you in mind next time I have a computer to dispose of. My old junk is probably useful to you. Nothing pending at the moment unless I can persuade my dad he needs a new machine (he’s still running XP).

    • oxforddickie September 30, 2013 at 20:01 #

      Thanks as always, and yes, your right, i was brought up to stand on my own two feet, and as you know from our recent conversations, i always try and find away an issue. By the way, i still use Windows XP, some of the software i use is not Vista/Win 7 friendly. Causing me a problem tracking down computers that have drivrs for XP though.

    • Owen Smith September 30, 2013 at 20:10 #

      The problem with XP is that from April next year there will be no more XP security updates from Microsoft. At that point you are relying exclusively on your virus scanner, which is not safe really. For machines not connected to the internet you’ll be OK, and if I recall that might actually be the case with your workhorse decoding machine (and presumably you use removable hard discs to get releases off it to the torrent machine).

      • oxforddickie September 30, 2013 at 20:31 #

        Yes, it’s not connected to the internet, and do use removable HDD’s

Leave a Reply

