Dan Fogelberg – Captured Angel

27 Jul

Dan Fogelberg - Captured Angel  DS283f front

Release: DS283f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

11 Responses to “Dan Fogelberg – Captured Angel”

  1. birdycat19 July 30, 2014 at 04:57 #

    This is a lovely effort, OD. Thanks so much!

  2. Owen Smith August 17, 2013 at 12:16 #

    Very pleasant, nice soft rock for a saturday morning. I too had never heard of Dan Fogelberg before and am pleased to have done so. I’m not going to try to expand inquadwetrust’s review.

  3. inquadwetrust August 11, 2013 at 13:46 #

    I’m so very pleased to have heard this – I’ve managed to completely bypass Mr Fogelberg’s entire oeuvre until today. Seems the perfect quad to relax to on a sunny Sunday afternoon.

    Clearly one from the heart, this man sounds like he means it on every track. Wonderfully bright and optimistic country tinged pop that hangs somewhere between America and RMT with a subtle dash of early period Steely Dan/The Eagles. Broad sweeps of beautiful picking and slide abound with lively percussion anchoring everything perfectly.

    The quad mix is equal to the content with no flashy pans or spotlights but the positioning is nicely spread to the rears for harmonies and mandolins amongst others. I feel like I can hear all the layers of the exquisite arrangements so easily, there is no crowding or overload even when everything is soaring skyward towards the ether. There is a transparency to the mix which is really pleasing, each track builds elegantly and expertly.

    I just wish Bernie Leadon (my favourite Eagle) had joined up with Dan. No question Joe Walsh was worthy of his place in The Eagles but Henley and Frey’s monster egos would have ate Dan alive.

    Thanks OD – a richly rewarding release and a sonic delight from start to finish. I generally round off my comments around your script and decode skills but I really should be using the word ‘mastering’ – this is very well mastered indeed.

    • prefabfan August 11, 2013 at 22:25 #

      hear, hear

  4. prefabfan July 29, 2013 at 02:47 #

    I have it on xlnt authority Dan never spoke to Joe or Don H. again. 19755 Dan was on the brink of millionaire, superstar, and he ended up an also ran. For years after Dan F. would not discuss the incident, admitting it hurt too much to talk about. Anyway, Captured Angel sounds great, now that I fixed my error in the surround processor. Somehow I had it getting stereo and using Pxlii (?) to manufacturer the rear channels. 😦 Definitely not the same as your decoding. Sounds great.

  5. prefabfan July 27, 2013 at 19:28 #

    This is the same release as two years ago, which I enjoy frequently? No new improved? btw, I use this to disprove the 80’0s claim, “You cannot get 4 discreet channels from matrix”.

    • oxforddickie July 27, 2013 at 19:41 #

      I have never released this before, it is a brand new release from a new LP transfer done within the last week, and nothing to do with any previous release by anyone else.

      • prefabfan July 27, 2013 at 19:48 #

        Sorry, my record keeping is poor. I know it pisses you off when your work is confused with others’ sorry. So, it looks like there might be a battle of “The Angels.” Fellow listeners, check out the Joe Walsh slide on Crow. This was the period when Joe and Dan were buds, and Dan confided he was getting the replacement job in the Eagles of Bernie Leaving. Joe thought to himself “I’m twice the player he is, wait a minute…” went behind his buddy’s back, got an Eagles’ audition, and…

        • oxforddickie July 27, 2013 at 20:01 #

          It does nark me a little, but worth it to get that little bit of info i didn’t know.

  6. zaphod2359 July 27, 2013 at 17:36 #

    This is an unexpected pleasure!I don’t suppose Twin Sons of Different Mothers was ever released in quad?

Leave a Reply

