Image

Alice Cooper – Billion Dollar Babies

4 Jul

Alice Cooper - Billion Dollar Babies DS277 sm

Q8 supplied by ‘Lupine Assassin’ and transfered by ‘Captain Beyond’.

Release: DS277

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

30 Responses to “Alice Cooper – Billion Dollar Babies”

  1. sbentley4 July 30, 2014 at 06:48 #

    Haven’t heard the DVD-A but this sounded great. I wasn’t a huge fan of Alice growing up, though being from Phoenix he was a home-town favorite. I Wanna Be Elected all by itself makes this a very enjoyable disc.

  2. rayshackleford June 16, 2014 at 02:12 #

    Much to my surprise there is a song on this album that sound EXACTLY like early Soundgarden. The things you learn on this blog…

  3. gleeksmirt7 October 2, 2013 at 12:27 #

    I’ve never heard this in any other format but basic stereo. What a gas. Thanks so much! Did they do a quad version of School’s Out? THAT would be really cool.

    • oxforddickie October 2, 2013 at 12:31 #

      Afraid not, the only other quad release was “Muscle of Love”

    • birdycat19 October 2, 2013 at 17:31 #

      A very nice surround mix on WELCOME TO MY NIGHTMARE on DVD-A.

  4. Owen Smith July 31, 2013 at 12:46 #

    This is nice and grungy, good hard rock stuff. Not my era so I’ve never heard it before, but very enjoyable musically.

    This is the first Q8 transfer I’ve heard that sounds like I thought Q8 would ie. tape hiss, wow and flutter, limited frequency range etc. All the other transfers I’ve heard must have been from much cleaner tapes, the Autobahn release was better for example (though not the best).

  5. quadrophiliac July 29, 2013 at 04:23 #

    Like donimo1, my wife did not like this album. but I played it (and loved it)anyway
    I began to outgrow Alice Cooper after School’s Out and never listened to him much after that. I’m glad I got this one. Thanks so much!

  6. donimo1 July 19, 2013 at 12:44 #

    Finally got the wife out of the house so I could crank it up. Enjoyed very much. Thanks Lupine, captainbeyond and OD.

  7. jaypfunk July 17, 2013 at 23:44 #

    Hey OD. Glad to see you still around here. Any surprises for us soon?

  8. katstep July 17, 2013 at 20:14 #

    I’ll have to check out the AWB album. I do have a very nice stereo rip of the Billion Dollar Babies quad that someone else did. Would this work as a source to make a quad decode, or does it need to be ripped in a special way for quad transcription?

    • oxforddickie July 17, 2013 at 20:40 #

      CD-4 albums need to be demodulated in real time directly from the LP, so i’m afraid a Stereo transfer of a CD-4 album is just stereo.

      • katstep July 17, 2013 at 23:44 #

        Ah, I was afraid of that. I’d be willing to lend out my LP if you or someone else here has the equipment to properly decode it. From what I recall it’s in pretty nice shape.

    • birdycat19 July 17, 2013 at 22:16 #

      As noted on the comments page for the AWB title–it’s one of the best mixes (and best sounding) quad albums I have ever heard. Just world-class!

    • Owen Smith July 18, 2013 at 01:31 #

      I am seeding DS64 AWB if anyone wants to download it and hear how a really great CD-4 sounds in quad.

  9. katstep July 17, 2013 at 18:35 #

    Thanks so much for the hard work on this one! A significantly different listening experience from the 5.1 DVD-A. Very cool quad separation on this one. A nice listen. A lot happening in the rears, and unlike some other Rock quads I’ve heard, it’s not just echo. Unlike some of the other members here, the Q8 source limitation would keep me from listening to this multiple times, especially due to the utter lack of high end. I found myself wondering how much noise reduction had been applied (if any), as there is very little tape hiss for the format. It could be that the source tape was just beat and that’s what was on it, end of story. But having had significant experience with 8-track tapes, I know there can be more (but not always) high end and the tapes can sound pretty good, even through some tape hiss. I’m also using the many Q8 to digital transcriptions I’ve heard over the years as a yardstick. So I guess my question is: was noise reduction of any kind used on this? Thanks again for the hard work of all involved!

    • oxforddickie July 17, 2013 at 19:15 #

      There was no noise reduction used at all. The tape was worn, which doesn’t help with Q8’s especilly as their top end can be lacking when new.

      • katstep July 17, 2013 at 19:46 #

        That’s kinda what I figured. Had to ask anyway. I’ve got about 1000 8-tracks and while some can sound pretty good, with decent top end, many sound just like this one. Thanks again for the hard work. I’ve got the Quadradisc/CD-4 LP of this one, but no way to decode. My guess is it’d be difficult to get the fantastic separation out of an LP that can be gleaned from a discrete Q8 source, although I was amazed at what you were able to do with Pretzel Logic, but that was a QS. Thanks again!

        • oxforddickie July 17, 2013 at 19:54 #

          It is possible to get almost as good seperation as a Q8 from a CD-4 LP. Most CD-4 demodulators do not work optimally. if you want to hear what is possible fromCD-4, listen to the AWB album. Stunning!

  10. jaypfunk July 7, 2013 at 12:30 #

    This is another one I have burned into my head from 40 years of listening to the stereo LP.
    Finally got a chance to listen last nite and WOW WOW WOW!! The way the layered vocals and multiple guitar parts are spread around the 4 speakers brings a whole new life to this. This is a great example of how to use the rears properly in a QUAD mix. You can def hear things that are either buried or totally mixed out in the stereo version.
    Amazing album, amazing QUAD mix. A 10 all around.

    • inquadwetrust July 9, 2013 at 14:18 #

      I’ve always loved this album but the DVDA never really delivered in terms of sonic punch. The vibes from this Q8 transfer are a different matter entirely. The whole frequency compromised format, as others have pointed out, only adds to the pleasure. It transforms my listening room into a quad time machine, tape hiss, black lightbulbs and Filmore posters, good hash and cold beer. Like minded friends lying around in the sweet smelling fog, nodding sagely throughout pausing occasionally to punch the air.

      The mix is great with totally different emphasis throughout. Swirling pans and thick reverb are the cornerstones of this leviathan deep rock-monster and the rich bottom end reminds you just how chock full of brass this album is. Honking trumpets underpin tower block levelling guitar riffs whilst the drums at times sound like an anti tank barrage. The title track defies all the limitations of the format to steam roll all over the DVDA version. The picking sounds deliciously sonorous and from this track on we swing from ballad to blues to theatrical pomp, the quad mix shifting to accommodate the more outlandishly bombastic moments as equally as the sedate and restrained passages. Alice sounds gnarly and totally in charge. It’s his show and he’s the ringmaster. His vocal range on this album is really quite impressive and it feels like he gave every take everything he had.

      If the blog is dead then I’m quoting Alice; ‘I love the dead!’

      Fantastic disc, hugely appreciated.

      • captainbeyond55 July 9, 2013 at 18:57 #

        “Wow man……I mean like….. wow man !!” Didn’t see you in that smokey room all those years ago but we was there. (Seriously Inquadwetrust I do enjoy your reviews almost as much as the music.You are spot on. Thanks for the smile.)

  11. ricll July 6, 2013 at 19:22 #

    sorry, but how do I download this one? thanks!!!

  12. ricll July 6, 2013 at 19:21 #

    Thanks again!

  13. capt2muchclutter July 6, 2013 at 03:06 #

    “Nice guy” is a perfect song, and it’s only 3 min. long! The quad brings out a lot, I like the “nice guy-eeee” in the back speakers.

  14. birdycat19 July 5, 2013 at 16:26 #

    This is exciting! I’ve never heard the original quad mix; I’ve got the DVD-A 5.1 but the remix is weird (different lyrics in “Raped N Freezin'”, no final “nothing” in “I Love the Dead” etc etc) so I’m really looking forward to this one! Thanks OD!

    • birdycat19 July 6, 2013 at 05:30 #

      Listening right now…some really nice mixing choices on this one, much more “energetic” than on the 5.1 mix. The sound, considering the source, isn’t optimal but it has a serious retro vibe to it. I can almost smell the shag carpeting and avocado wallpaper 🙂

  15. joeerand July 4, 2013 at 18:39 #

    Thank you.

  16. baudouinpetit July 4, 2013 at 17:37 #

    Simply the first rock album I’ve bought. Wonderfull BoB Ezrin production. Alice Cooper at its best! Contains an hidden hit “Generation Lanslide”. I own the DVD-Audio, but it’s a 5.1 re-mix… that I am only able to hear in…. Dolby Digital. Can’t wait to hear this (even knowing its Q8 limitations). You beat my week OD !

  17. lupineassassin July 4, 2013 at 14:16 #

    I’ve heard a lot of great things about this quad mix. Once again you save the day and bring home the awesome! ^^ Ta!

  18. jaypfunk July 4, 2013 at 14:01 #

    Beautiful. Another gem I’ve been waiting for.

Leave a Reply

