Rick Wakeman – The Six Wives Of Henry VIII

22 Feb
WITHDRAWN

This is easily the most requested album i’ve had since doing this blog, and i’m pleased that i’ve now been able to do full justice to this classic album.

Release: DS234f

Source: SQ CD

Process: SQ*Final/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

17 Responses to “Rick Wakeman – The Six Wives Of Henry VIII”

  1. inquadwetrust March 20, 2013 at 20:53 #

    Wild and indulgent, this album lets rip in all four corners of the room like the wildly flatulent brew of synths that it is. Burbling, whooshing, whizzing, parping and any other word you think of to describe what happens when you let the keyboard player make his own album. Incredible to think A&M were probably absolutely right when they first heard it and thought they’d poured money down the drain. Time shows them to be entirely wrong of course, to the tune of 15,000,000 sales. I love it because it boils down all Wakeman’s best tricks and flourishes – not to mention his best melodic work. Everything sounds lush and rich throughout and I got lost in the madness more than once. Its not a cliche if you invent it right?

    Excellent sonics and decode – huge thanks OD

  2. hawkwind March 5, 2013 at 23:53 #

    Thank You.

  3. Neb Maat Re March 4, 2013 at 08:35 #

    I am a bit like Owen on this one – I am not familiar with the album, it's not entirely to my taste, and I would have liked to hear a bit more of the melody.

    But there is no denying the placement of the instruments as a result of the decode. Thanks.

  4. OxfordDickie March 3, 2013 at 15:31 #

    The distortion is inhererent in the recording, the quad mix allows it to show upmore.

  5. Owen Smith March 3, 2013 at 11:58 #

    Musically this is a bit excessively mad for my tastes. I almost get it, it's certainly more to my liking than Jazz. If only the music would settle down for a while on some of the nice melodies that briefly fly past.

    I am noticing some distortion or clipping on some tracks, eg. the louder organ sections in track 5. Having never heard this album in stereo I have no idea whether it is inherent in the recording, but I've never heard any similar distortion in any of OD's other decodes.

  6. PhilBiker February 27, 2013 at 03:22 #

    Wonderful. Thank you!

  7. Frank February 25, 2013 at 23:37 #

    I just listened to the mix. I heard more front and back action than what i remembered hearing on my end here. I can definitely hear more depth. The fidelity on this CD surpasses that of the overly compressed LP, which is really nice! Unfortunately, when it comes to quad, I will always be partial to quad mixes with ping-pong effects and crazy pans. None-the-less it's an awesome decode. Thanks for all you do for us on this blog.

  8. OxfordDickie February 25, 2013 at 08:43 #

    Thanks for the offer, but i can't imagine ever needing to re-do it, this is just fine……..

  9. OxfordDickie February 25, 2013 at 08:41 #

    As a mix, this album is a '4 to the wall', it's not discrete, it's more interesting than that, so i'm guessing you may never be happy with it.

    But i'd be interested in your views…..

  10. Frank February 25, 2013 at 03:56 #

    Btw,, I never realized that the quad mix made it to the CD format. Awesome!

  11. Frank February 25, 2013 at 03:55 #

    Great album! My favorite track has always been “Anne of Cleves” – what a great jam! I'm curious to see how it was decoded with your scripts. On my end using the Tate and scripts I was disappointed. I had higher hopes for more of a discrete mix with more pans and quad effects – this album deserved that. Unfortunately, the quad mix let me down. Hopefully, this time, I can hear something I may have missed.

  12. duilawyr February 24, 2013 at 21:52 #

    Dear Sir; I have not heard this, and I ma sure it is XLNT. I do have a mint SQ quad copy of you feel a need to redo it. Course When I have sent you things, the evil VAT police interfere. 😦 Anyway, we know you love Wakeman so this is a red-letter day as we say here. Can't wait to hear it (again).

  13. Old_fat_bloke February 24, 2013 at 01:18 #

    Thank you

    Magnificent !

  14. teamster February 23, 2013 at 07:44 #

    I'm so impressed that you didn't release it until it met your standards. Thank you!

  15. tarkus9 February 22, 2013 at 21:01 #

    I'm back. The sound is profound – you outdid yourself perhaps 🙂 Thanks again!

  16. Bob February 22, 2013 at 14:28 #

    Can't wait… one of my faves!!! I'm sure it will be stunning.

  17. tarkus9 February 22, 2013 at 13:55 #

    1,001 blessings upon your house, sir. I cannot wait to hear this! Your last few uploads have been wonderful and now this! Happy Friday! Thank You!

Leave a Reply

