Lutoslawski – Orchestral Works

7 Feb

In this the 100th anniversary of Wiltold Lutoslawski’s birth, this is the first of a couple of releases dedicated to him

Release: DS231f

Source: SQ CD

Process: SQ*Final/II

Format: 2 x DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD


15 Responses to “Lutoslawski – Orchestral Works”

  1. flvargasmachuca November 24, 2013 at 13:15 #

    Love this release. Stunning music, wolderful conducting by own Lutoslawski and suberb decoding – Quad ads a sense of space that was lost in the stereo CD. Great job!

    • Owen Smith November 24, 2013 at 13:43 #

      Aha, someone was downloading this recently, probably you.

      OD, what happened to the cello concerto you mention above in the boxset? It is still Lutoslawski’s 100th anniversary, there is still time this year.

      • oxforddickie November 24, 2013 at 13:57 #

        A very good question, to be honest i totally forgot about it. Can’t remember whether i actually have it, need to check my collection. Thanks for reminding me.

      • Owen Smith November 24, 2013 at 16:44 #

        The cello concerto may be in the source you decoded this from, because above you wrote:

        “This was released as a single inventory box set, which included the Cello Concerto, which this set ommits. It will be done later on.”

        Unless I’m mis-interpreted that?

        • oxforddickie November 24, 2013 at 16:56 #

          I remember now, the CD set didn’t include the Cello Concerto and i was going to try and source the original album release. Thanks for the nudge…

  2. OxfordDickie February 24, 2013 at 10:45 #

    Thanks anyway, it's unfortunate that modern classical music hasn't a wider audience

  3. Pygmy Beat February 24, 2013 at 10:20 #

    I've kept this file up to seed but there's not been a lot of traffic. Pity because it's well worth having. Thanks OD!

  4. OxfordDickie February 17, 2013 at 10:31 #

    Artwork is included with the album, so you probably didn't download it. As to it not being mentioned as being SQ encoded, none of todays re-releases are, it's something that would confuse people nowadays, as no new equipment has been manufactured since the 1970's.

    This was released as a single inventory box set, which included the Cello Concerto, which this set ommits. It will be done later on.

  5. Johnnygaz February 17, 2013 at 01:36 #

    I do not master the technical vocabulary to describe the aural experience I had upon listening to disc 1.
    Only thing I can say is that the sound is clear and spacialized and it is a real pleasure to listen to. It makes you wonder if 5.1 or + is necessary.
    I’m taking a break before listening to disc 2.
    I don’t know if I did something wrong but there were no front and back cover for this release so I went to to know what I was listening to and was surprised when the critic said ‘Taped in stereo in Poland, the sound here is surprisingly clean and direct, if not especially present’. He was talking about the 2008 CD release. Obviously he does not know about a quad release earlier, in the seventies, I would presume, and that the CD is most probably an offspring from a more than 2.0 recording.
    Just to say that massmarket does not care too much about audiophile recording.
    Thank you O.D. for your devotion, your work is exemplary.

  6. vancrispin February 10, 2013 at 23:26 #

    Excellent OD: After all these years of listening to old and new classical music this has finally introduced me to Lutoslawski. Like some modern music, it is an acquired taste, but it does seem worth acquiring. To my ears this is full surround orchestra music and the mix, the quad, and the excellent SQ*Final do a terrific job of delineating the complexities of this music making it easier to grasp. If your system is well tuned (perhaps with one of those microphone timing set-ups like Audessey) this recording presents an impressive “acoustic” event. “Acoustic” as different from multi-mike or a live recording that was electronically reinforced for a large audience.
    The Three Poems on Disk 2 are a good example with some crystal clear percussion ensemble work, chorus part work and a solo section. The soloist sounds natural, with his voice occupying a human dimension on the large 360° soundscape.
    I'm impressed.

  7. Owen Smith February 10, 2013 at 13:33 #

    I've now had chance to listen to Disc 1 (my word these are full discs!). Musically I like some of it, and the rest is just too modernist for my tastes. I feel the same way about Britten, some of his stuff is great but others are unlistenable.

    The new SQ*Final/II process has done a great job with the quad mix. I've always felt that SQ*Final had something missing for orchestral/classical quad, the fairly passive quad mixes didn't come off well with the older process. This seems a similarly passive quad mix but still comes off clearly on my system, definitely an improvement. This is the first classical release with the new process so the first time we've had opportunity to make this assessment. I look forward to more.

  8. Owen Smith February 9, 2013 at 17:51 #

    Give us chance! I've only just finished downloading this and the second disc is burning as I type. But it will either be tomorrow or next weekend before I have chance to listen.

  9. wasscally wabbit February 9, 2013 at 15:00 #

    C'mon people! I like my music heavier than a Concrete God too, but smoothe, haunting, modern classical needs more than 2 comments! I'm currently doing an analysis of the rear left and am seeking the scores from NYU. OXFORDBITCHIN'! Wassc. PS: How 'bout Mountain's Avalanche Q8! Just kidding (not really). These posts are insane and perfect. Period.

  10. teamster February 9, 2013 at 07:15 #

    Thank you. I heard him lecture a couple times…he was a wonderful composer and orchestrator and seemed like a classy guy.

  11. Fernando López Vargas-Machuca February 7, 2013 at 16:54 #


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: