Yes – KBFH Live In Concert

5 Dec

Release: DS221f

Source: SQ Broadcast

Process: SQ*Final/I.

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

28 Responses to “Yes – KBFH Live In Concert”

  1. John February 28, 2016 at 23:49 #

    I’ve always loved Yes – and have always been slightly disappointed with their live recordings compared to the studio versions. The bass and drums are never as precise or as well articulated as I experience on the original study recordings. And this one is not any different – once again the bass feels boomy, while the drums feel drowned out. And I’m sure I’m talking about the recording, not the transfer. I even thought this was the case with the more recent official release – 7 Shows from ’72. Don’t get me wrong – I loved the opportunity to swim in this one, and am very grateful to hear Yes raging through a very dynamically played set. They sound really on edge = close to the edge, in fact! And the beginning segment of that piece is just wild! What a band, and what a set of songs – and some interesting quad moments, in a really passionate, energetic performance. It felt a bit left balanced to begin with – but the spread didn’t seem very precise to me. It seemed to float around a lot in a fairly haphazard way. Maybe I’ve just come off some wonderful crazy precision and well articulated sounds spread around the Miles Davis Quad transfers, in which the drums and bass are really clear and present. So the comparison is not favorable to this Yes recording… As I said, I love Yes, it is a treat to have this concert in Quad – and will be returning to this version soon.

    • Owen Smith February 29, 2016 at 09:33 #

      This is decoded with SQ*Final/I which is an old process now. Also as OD’s comments say below this may have been badly re-mastered before he got to it.

      • John February 29, 2016 at 18:53 #

        Of course, Owen – I hope I didn’t sound like I was criticizing the transfer. As noted, Yes live recordings have never quite hit the mark for me…

  2. rockyofpittsburgh June 23, 2014 at 03:46 #

    It’s nice to hear this. i don’t recall if i heard any of the original broadcast, but I caught this show at the Civic Arena here in Pittsburgh, I was 19.

    I was allowed to walk around with my Minolta camera. i used slide film. I photographed the entire Gates of Delirium, and later manually synced the slides with the record.

    I still have the slides. I guess it could be now be synced on a computer.

    People actually sat quietly and listened. Nobody stood and screamed until the end. Tickets were $6 to $8.

  3. sullis02 October 8, 2013 at 04:56 #

    Really nice! This has better EQ, clarity, and more ‘surround-y’ ness than any other version I’ve heard — including the ‘preFM’ and the old ‘Stellar Attraction’ release. But something seriously weird is going on in the first two tracks; the lead vocal seems pulled towards or biased towards to the left of the soundstage, instead of being centered. Given that this is corrected by the third track onward, I’m guessing it’s to do with the original mixing, but I might try rearranging the channels to see if it improves. Anyone else hearing it? (There’s also the fact that the guitar is on the right, not on the left where it would be in concert …but that’s been true of every version I’ve heard).

    • oxforddickie October 8, 2013 at 08:52 #

      The problem with these types of recordings is you don’t know how much damage has been done by others ‘remastering’ them. Hence i’m not doing anymore unless i am able to obtain a virgin copy

      • Steven Sullivan February 29, 2016 at 19:39 #

        Wolfgang’s Vault streams a digitization of what is probably the original King Biscuit tape of this show. Unfortunately they do not currently offer it as a download. The ‘PreFM’ version that I have is, according to the associated information file, a ‘remastered’ version. I’m going to see if I can obtain the nonremastered source; if successful I’ll offer it to OD.

        • oxforddickie February 29, 2016 at 20:13 #

          What they will probably be streaming is a stereo re-mix as all of the quad masters were destroyed in a wharehouse fire.

          • Steven Sullivan February 29, 2016 at 20:43 #

            I certainly didn’t mean to imply that they were streaming from a quad multitrack master. I doubt King Biscuit ever broadcast directly from one either. AFAIK the broadcasts were from SQ matrixed two-channel reels (‘SQ quadraphonic stereo’ as the announcer says)

            • oxforddickie February 29, 2016 at 21:00 #

              I didn’t think you meant that. The SQ encoded masters were destroyed. Thankfully the original multi-tracks were kept elsewhere.Whether the four channel masters were destroyed is open to question.

              • Steven Sullivan February 29, 2016 at 21:51 #

                That’s an intriguing thought. But as regards what was played over the air, from what I’ve read, the source was SQ encoded reels sent out by KB to multiple radio stations. Some of these may well have survived — items claiming to be preFM station reels occasionally turn up on Ebay, and there are recordings of various bands in circulations claiming to be transfers of preFM reels. Even though they are (presumably) copies of an original master, they are the source of what quad fans decoded off the air back in ’74/75…and thus at least ‘good enough’.

                • Steven Sullivan February 29, 2016 at 21:52 #

                  And that (to bring this back around) is what I’m trying to get my hands on.

  4. Don Richie January 26, 2013 at 16:08 #

    Thank you so much!

  5. OxfordDickie December 30, 2012 at 10:29 #

    I released that concert a while ago, and a new improved decode will be made available in 2013

  6. PhilBiker December 29, 2012 at 17:32 #

    “I believe there was a KBFH Genesis concert at the Shrine in LA doing “The Lamb” (a partially re-recorded version appeared on the Archives box) – I'd really love to hear that one done properly; any chance of that happening by you? Thanks OD!”

    It's been posted here and it's great.

  7. STLJLC December 9, 2012 at 15:48 #

    Thanks very much…

  8. Pygmy Beat December 8, 2012 at 09:37 #

    DLing now – thanks yet again.

  9. lonky December 8, 2012 at 00:23 #

    OD
    Any chance that you might post The Divine Miss M?
    It was the first quad album I ever heard oh so many years ago ,and it was life changing
    Thanks for all you do

  10. Don Richie December 7, 2012 at 17:17 #

    Wow! Thank you very much.

  11. OxfordDickie December 7, 2012 at 17:04 #

    More than a possibility….

  12. Johnny Fuckin T December 7, 2012 at 15:18 #

    Thanks as always OD. This one is excellent. I had the PRE-FM version for a while but this is really cool to have.

    on another note… Do by any chance have plans to do the quad of Aerosmith Toys In The Attic?

  13. OxfordDickie December 7, 2012 at 09:50 #

    There are more to come in the future, including a new version of “The Shrine”

  14. Anonymous December 7, 2012 at 07:18 #

    Wow, this brings back memories! I used to have a vinyl bootleg with only Soundchaser, Roundabout and the Gates on it. The insert hinted that it could be decoded into quad, but I didn't have the equipment at the time to hear it. Always liked to hear Moraz do Roundabout, but to hear him play the CTTE material, very cool. Are there more KBFH quad-encoded broadcasts available to you to do your magic on? I believe there was a KBFH Genesis concert at the Shrine in LA doing “The Lamb” (a partially re-recorded version appeared on the Archives box) – I'd really love to hear that one done properly; any chance of that happening by you? Thanks OD!

  15. msz December 7, 2012 at 06:44 #

    thanks a lot!
    msz

  16. Anonymous December 6, 2012 at 17:11 #

    Thank You and everyone involved in these great works.

  17. Anonymous December 6, 2012 at 14:41 #

    Yes to Yes. Thanks, great recording

  18. Jerome Bouchet December 6, 2012 at 10:22 #

    Thank you!

  19. Neb Maat Re December 6, 2012 at 05:01 #

    Thanks, OD. Looking forward to this upgrade of the DTS version that has been around for sometime

Leave a Reply

