Pink Floyd – Pompeii: The Quadraphonic Mix

8 Nov

Tracks:
Intro
Echoes (Part One)
Careful With That Axe, Eugene
A Saucerful of Secrets
One of These Days (I’m Going to Cut You Into Little Pieces)
Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun
Mademoiselle Nobs
Echoes (Part Two)

I have taken the opportunity to do some corrective work on this for my release

Release: DS217

Source: 35mm CinemaScope film print

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

34 Responses to “Pink Floyd – Pompeii: The Quadraphonic Mix”

  1. Bruce June 6, 2016 at 01:48 #

    OMFG What an amazing album. This is my first time listening to Pompeii and I’m blown away by the music and the quality. Echos (Part One) is just intense! The mix is an example of why quad was developed in the first place. I suppose this is the closest we are ever going to get to hearing a real quad version of Meddle. I’ve heard there were/are quad tapes, but I’ve never heard of them getting out into the wild. Nice job on the transfer.

    So, Owen, did you ever get into that “Secret Club”? Sorry, was searching the web and found your post on QQ . 🙂 I think we’ve all felt that way at some time or another. Thanks again guys for this site. My quad collection is slowing catching up with my 5.1 collection.

    • Owen Smith June 6, 2016 at 12:58 #

      Yes this is an amazing album. And incredible that it was rescued from a 4 track magnetic 35mm film print. Remember that Pink Floyd performed in quad using the “Azimuth Coordinator”.

      I’ve been in the amphitheatre in Pompeii that this was performed in. Now you can’t sneeze in there without permission, so a Pink Floyd concert is a much better use of the space. The Romans built it for entertainment after all.

      I had an offer to join the “secret club” but I turned it down, I didn’t like their attitude and OD’s quality is much better.

      • Bruce June 6, 2016 at 23:20 #

        Would have loved to see them live in that era. My first PF show was The Wall; still an impressive live show. I had to Google Azimuth Coordinator. Very cool. Very few bands went to that effort. I remember seeing Gentle Giant and hearing the violin solo bouncing off of all of the walls. It might have just been a stereo mix, but they made it sound like the notes were flying all over the room.

  2. watersgate July 20, 2013 at 05:27 #

    Sounds fantastic, this really blew me away. Incredible!

  3. hawkwind November 21, 2012 at 03:47 #

    Many Thanks OD.

    I, too, am experincing the same issue that others are having with the time counter. Counter works fine via FooBar, but using my Pioneer DV-686A the timer gives false readings. Selecting actual tracks though is fine.

    Reminds me of the issue I have with Santana Lotus – SQFinal version. Your previous decode of this did not have the issue … strange indeed !

  4. Joseph Christ November 21, 2012 at 02:36 #

    As someone who worked on this project, what sort of “corrective work” did you do, exactly?

  5. duilawyr November 18, 2012 at 23:48 #

    Sounds great, my Yamaha 1980 does stall briefly before IO, but wait ten seconds, and out comes more great music. I love the seperation. SQ is fine too, no problems with any tinniness or whatever. Sounds like 60s Floyd.

  6. OxfordDickie November 15, 2012 at 06:37 #

    Not quite sure what the problem is as nothing was done differently, but it appears to affect certain machines. Really odd, but as long as the music flows……..

  7. Pygmy Beat November 15, 2012 at 06:25 #

    PLayed through my lovely old quad amp this sounds marvellous. No issues with displays etc – simply because I'm listening not looking (I don't use a screen/monitor on my older set up).

  8. ToadHallFan November 14, 2012 at 22:30 #

    Update on track time display. I burned a second disc and this one, while still showing the time stalling (this time at :07) it does happily play through on both machines! Also a friend found the original unfixed version of this had a time problem where in reverse scan it kept going when it should have gone back to play. So it appears there is some anomaly with the source that seemed to carry over into the remastered/reauthored version. Thanks again to all!

  9. gjwAudio November 12, 2012 at 17:03 #

    Thank YOU so much OD for adding your own special polish to this gem. My room is ALIVE with classic Floyd !! The panning effects remind me of the live surround PA on the DSoTM tour (1973). BTW, your frequency balance is “just right” – judged by listening to the MLP layer, via my Oppo DV-980H.

    I thought you may be interested to know – similar to the report by Owen Smith – I find anomalies in the track time display (LCD on the machine), where it does not increment continuously, but will stall once a new track has begun. Sometime later it will resume counting – very curious. The disc plays just fine, skipping between tracks is accurate and as normal.

    Please don't mistake this for a complaint – I am so grateful to you, and the other principals, whose hard work has rescued this fine artifact from the dust bin of the past.

    Thanks to your blog OD, I've had to buy a larger HDD for the SurroundMucic library once already. I can only hope I'm forced to repeat this in the future !

    Cheers,
    Grant

  10. Steve November 12, 2012 at 00:24 #

    Your upgrade is a great improvement over the original that you posted. A little less brittle sounding, and a much more full sound. Great work. The hard pans in the mix give me a good idea of what an “azimuth coordinator” show from that time period would have been like. Cheers!

  11. Markus November 11, 2012 at 21:23 #

    thankyou I will re d/l.

  12. duilawyr November 11, 2012 at 20:14 #

    The DL speed was in excess of 1.2 GB!! Lightning!! Can't wait to listen, thanks again.

  13. Frank November 11, 2012 at 19:57 #

    OD, thank you for your efforts. This release sounds very good. I wish people on here were discussing the music, quad mix, and sound versus the technical stuff. I often feel people on here think you are required to administer technical support. If you have problems burning discs, understanding the differences between a dvd-a and a dvd-v please use GOOGLE!!! This isn't some technical support forum. It's soooo annoying!

  14. OxfordDickie November 11, 2012 at 19:18 #

    MARKUS: I've done some work removing crud and tightening up the timing as well as improving the sound quality. The original is rather harsh.

  15. Owen Smith November 11, 2012 at 18:01 #

    Wow, the music on this is great and the sound quality is considerably better than I was expecting. Thanks!

    Backing up what ToadHallFan said: The DVD-A layer played fine from end to end for me on my Oppo BDP-95EU. However I had the TV on with the track information displayed (press “i”) and the track breaks did not remotely match when the music changed track. And there were lengthy periods where the time within the track stuck at 00:00:00 before suddenly jumping to several minutes in and then counting upwards. When the music finished the display said there was over 6 minutes left of the last track. I have not had this problem with any of OD's other releases (played at least 50) or other DVD-As including commercial ones.

  16. Markus November 11, 2012 at 16:48 #

    What are the differences between this and the prior release which I downloaded a week or so ago.

    Thank You

  17. duilawyr November 11, 2012 at 16:39 #

    Thanks for your efforts.

  18. tarkus9 November 11, 2012 at 12:33 #

    Thank you for the effort. Looking forward to playing it!

  19. OxfordDickie November 11, 2012 at 09:57 #

    FRANK: This is the discrete version as each channel used a seperate strip on yje film

    TOADHALLFAN: I've had no other complaints, and these two titles were created in exactly the same was asthe others.

    You don't mention which stream your using

  20. Frank November 11, 2012 at 05:23 #

    Just heard this one tonight.. Listened to it twice in a row! Great material and the quad mix is very interesting and relevant to this release. I'm going to guess that the 'source' was matrixed due to being released on 35mm film..?? If so, does a discrete version exist?

  21. Pygmy Beat November 11, 2012 at 01:10 #

    This seems pretty popular. On my torrent connection there are 35 seeds & 74 peers. I've had a gig & a half uploaded. I haven't had a chance to burn & play yet (drive is dead in this comp) but should do this afternoon. Thanks once again OD for your services to quality audio.

  22. ToadHallFan November 10, 2012 at 23:22 #

    Greatly improved. Not so screechy, and brought out the rears more? One question though, this and the Arlo have the same problem on my JVC in the car, several minutes of silence after a song while the counter is still running, skip to the next and display is at 3:03 but it plays, skip to track 5 and it won't play, need to reset the unit to get the disc out. Anybody see a similar issue with these two titles only? The unfixed Pompeii plays fine as do all other discs. These two are OK on the Oppo.

  23. STLJLC November 10, 2012 at 13:25 #

    Again, my thanks for the time and talent devoted to this.

  24. OxfordDickie November 10, 2012 at 07:48 #

    Yes

  25. Frank November 10, 2012 at 00:52 #

    what kind of quad mix is this? Are their hard pans and active rear channels?

  26. Unknown November 9, 2012 at 09:50 #

    sounds great! very much appreciated!

  27. OxfordDickie November 9, 2012 at 08:40 #

    There were other technical issues

  28. marconiex November 9, 2012 at 03:47 #

    I think it's spelled “CinemaScope”.

    Yet another great release!

  29. Owen Smith November 9, 2012 at 01:25 #

    So what was actually wrong with the original, apart from it being DVD-A only? Or was that all that was wrong?

  30. Allan Greenwald November 9, 2012 at 00:08 #

    Amazing!! Thanks for this! 😀

  31. Neb Maat Re November 8, 2012 at 21:38 #

    Thanks, OD. Can't wait to hear the improved version!

Leave a Reply

