Miles Davis – Bitches Brew

18 Oct

Release: DS210f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ*Final

Format: DVD-A/VΒ  MLP/DTS/DD

25 Responses to “Miles Davis – Bitches Brew”

  1. Brian Whistler February 11, 2017 at 06:46 #

    Really opens up in quad. Sounds less busy and the spatial effects from th echoplex on the trumpet are spectacular in quad! Fantastic release!

  2. John February 27, 2016 at 17:36 #

    OK then – I thought this one was a stunner. What a terrific album to begin with… I love the way the space opens up in quad – without losing any of the presence of the individual instruments or the togetherness of the music – as the trumpet swirls over the place at times. There is always a huge amount going on in these pieces – and all instruments are worth hearing at the same time. This version facilitates that – the keyboard solo over here being underpinned by the weirdest rhythm guitar that is chopping away over there, with the horns coming in over the top. Especially Spanish Key – in which I enjoyed the crazy sax more than I remember on other versions. On occasion I’ve felt that some of the quads having sounded a bit processed (Abraxas, Can’t Buy A Thrill) – with the music sounding a little recessed or weaker as a result. Not here, though! The instruments leap out of the speaks in the best possible way – and grapple with each other all across the sound field. I loved it!

  3. K September 7, 2015 at 23:04 #

    Okay, so I finally gave this one a good listen today (in fact, tracking down a quad copy of the album was one of the things which led me here in the first place, as I had previously been constantly listening to the excellent 5.1 version of “In a Silent Way” when I became interested in seeing how much Miles stuff was in multi-channel [short answer: more than most “classic” jazz musicians, but still not a lot])…and I like the mix a lot. As for the album itself…for as much as I think Miles made some great records before the ‘electric’ period, the ‘electric’ period was when his work really became something indescribable. That being said, I do prefer the previous album, “In a Silent Way”, over this one, and there were some monumental records which followed this one, so I do tend to overlook this album a bit…but revisiting it at this point, I’m reminded of how cool this record really is.

  4. lhorton1 November 4, 2013 at 04:47 #

    Absolutely love being able to hear the channel separation of the instruments. For me, this enhances the music that can be somewhat overly busy in stereo:)

  5. ayjanu May 22, 2013 at 20:35 #

    Not a problem, OD.

  6. ayjanu May 21, 2013 at 23:24 #

    Having recently had a chance to listen to this, to the best of my ability, I’ve compared this with the other release of this album, which was available from “the ‘noid,” a few years back. From what I can tell, the two appear to be the same in pretty much all aspects. The DVD-A from the ‘noid version has a picture menu, but if I remember correctly, the filesize is larger than the DVD-A portion of this particular release (not that I take issue with that at all, of course). So yeah…seeing as both of these are the SQ-quad release, I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised. Nice to be able to do comparisons, though. πŸ˜‰ Perhaps I should go back and listen intricately to both, and see if I can spot any differences. If I hear any differences at all, I’ll post a follow-up. Thanks! Looking forward to Live-Evil as well. πŸ˜‰

    • oxforddickie May 21, 2013 at 23:33 #

      I’m guessing the version your comparing it to is probably a Q8 rip and not a SQ decode. If that’s so, thanks for the feedback

      • ayjanu May 22, 2013 at 06:59 #

        Ah, so that’s what you meant the other week when you asked me about how it was decoded. Hmm. No, the other one says SQ-Quadraphonic as well. Japanese, to be exact. The label image has the catalog number SOPJ 58~59. Out of curiosity’s sake, I ran that number through Discogs, and came up with the following information:

        Miles Davis β€Žβ€“ Bitches Brew
        Label: CBS/Sony β€Žβ€“ SOPJ 58~59
        Format: 2 Γ— Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Quadraphonic, SQ
        Country: Japan
        Released: 1974
        Genre: Jazz, Rock
        Style: Jazz-Rock, Fusion

        Looking through the issue list for the album, there are only two other issues of the album in quad, listed (technically three, but one is merely a promo edition, with the same catalog number as the first Japanese issue):

        Miles Davis β€Žβ€“ Bitches Brew
        Label: Columbia β€Žβ€“ GQ 30997
        Format: 2 Γ— Vinyl, LP, Album, Quadraphonic
        Country: US
        Released: 1971
        Genre: Jazz
        Style: Fusion

        (this one actually says SQ on the label, like the others, so the lack of that information here is an oversight)
        and

        Miles Davis β€Žβ€“ Bitches Brew
        Label: CBS/Sony β€Žβ€“ SOPL 24~5
        Format: 2 Γ— Vinyl, LP, Album, Quadraphonic, SQ
        Country: Japan
        Released: 1972
        Genre: Jazz, Rock
        Style: Jazz-Rock, Fusion

        So, based on this information, the version I have from the ‘noid is a reissue of the SQ-Quadraphonic version in Japan, done two years after the first Japanese issue, and there seem to be no Q8 issues of the album, either in the US or Japan. Out of further curiosity, do any of these three catalog numbers match your rip?

        • oxforddickie May 22, 2013 at 08:48 #

          Yes, it was the USA release, thanks for that wealth of information.

  7. Owen Smith April 5, 2013 at 00:14 #

    I downloaded this after Howard Goodall mentioned it in his recent history of music TV series. I can’t really see what he thought is so good about it, though the trumpet playing is exceptional. I almost like track 6, although this track is spoiled by an annoying pre-echo on the trumpet part, presumably this was caused by print through on some magnetic tape stage during recording, mixing or mastering since it isn’t an effect you can get from LP.

  8. Emiliano Dalla March 2, 2013 at 18:02 #

    Thank you very much, really curious to listen to this πŸ™‚

  9. OxfordDickie January 30, 2013 at 15:20 #

    look out for 'Live Evil' soon

  10. 86ed January 30, 2013 at 15:16 #

    Excellent! I just recently did a rip of Live Evil quad, but don't have the your skills to transmogrify it like this. My BB pressing is thrashed, so very pleased to get this! Thank you!

  11. Unknown October 22, 2012 at 11:12 #

    I burnt the disc with Imgburn at 4x. Maybe it was a bad disc. I will try again.

    thanks for all the advice

  12. OxfordDickie October 22, 2012 at 07:42 #

    Forgot to add that i found increasing the buffer size helps reduce the chances of getting buffer under-run problems

  13. duilawyr October 21, 2012 at 19:32 #

    I burn at 1x, so that if by chance the computer has to do other work, the burning program, Imgburn, does not momentarily glitch. Takes longer but never a disc problem, including this one

  14. OxfordDickie October 21, 2012 at 17:29 #

    I'm with you, always burn at 4x (or even slower if the disc allows) and never have an issue

  15. Bob October 21, 2012 at 16:58 #

    I burn exclusively at 4x for all DVD-A/V iso files with excellent results. I always suggest using ImgBurn or DVD Decrypter (both free programs.

    Romanotrax

  16. Owen Smith October 20, 2012 at 16:19 #

    All previous advice I have seen says burning at the drive's highest speed is more acccurate since that is what it is calibrated for. I've never seen advice to use slowest. Now I don't know who to believe. I've been burning at about 4x and getting something like a 1 in 20 failure rate needing a new disc burning.

  17. OxfordDickie October 19, 2012 at 16:28 #

    Not had any other complaints. Just to double check:

    1, Disc's should always be burned at the slowest speed possible (this goes for any DVD-A/V)

    2, If your using Nero…DON'T. It's over-priced, bloated junk

    3, Possibly a dodgy disc?

    See the 'Burning' page

  18. Unknown October 19, 2012 at 14:01 #

    For some reason this one won't work on my player. It plays OK on my computer, but my player shows a 'no disc' error. I have lots of your releases, so I don't know why I'm having this problem.

    Film music for me too, if you have any! πŸ™‚

    thanks!

  19. Unknown October 19, 2012 at 07:10 #

    I had no idea that this even saw a quad release. Can't wait to hear it – thanks for all your efforts!

  20. Adenilson October 19, 2012 at 03:48 #

    Thanks for share this classic album,great !!

  21. teamster October 19, 2012 at 00:22 #

    I could not be more excited. Thank you John and O.D.!!!

  22. duilawyr October 18, 2012 at 20:18 #

    Now you're talking. More my style of music. Any film music from the 70s……

Leave a Reply

