Beck Bogert & Appice – Beck Bogert & Appice

1 Oct

Release: DS206f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ*Final

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

13 Responses to “Beck Bogert & Appice – Beck Bogert & Appice”

  1. inquadwetrust November 9, 2012 at 20:00 #

    sgt_daisuke – I mean no disrespect when I say your post reads like haiku and I infer you may be Japanese? Whether you are or not I get where you are coming from. I have the DTS disc and it sounds brittle, as you say 'mechanical…' although I haven't previously heard an SQ LP version of this album I do own the stereo LP which I cherish for the warmth and timbre. The DTS disc is discrete and I have always enjoyed it but as you rightly point out this version sounds natural, a balance of warmth and separation with real air around the mix that allows the soloing to breath beautifully.

    OD and John – thank you for providing the definitive article for this recording 🙂

  2. sgt_daisuke October 10, 2012 at 00:02 #

    Though, you do a good job.
    I have two album. One is SQ vinyl, the other is DTS Music Disc.
    About SQ Album, my SQ decorder is poor.
    So Separation is no good.
    About DTS CD, I feel the mechanical sounds…not natural.

    But, your version is great.
    It sounds on very natural.
    (It's questionable in the first place that
    Sounds of Jeff's E.Guitar have natual.)
    I feel that I have been transmitted to
    the feeling of the air at the recording studio.

    Thank you.
    Sorry to cooperate nothing about the capital.
    I would be to aid, when I could.

  3. duilawyr October 8, 2012 at 04:49 #

    That would cause me to worry about a software upgrade to the BDP93EU, ala the Sony 58 and 59, which got the wonderful “gift” of Cineavia.

  4. Owen Smith October 7, 2012 at 16:19 #

    The Oppo BDP93EU and BDP95EU players both play DVDA-R and SACD-R very well. These are about to be replaced by the 103 and 105 models but we don't know how well they handle the formats. What is known is that Cineavia copy protection (watermarking in the audio in Blu Rays) is in the new players as it is mandatory on all new Blu Ray models. So I'm steering clear of the new models until the impact of this retrograde step is known (eg. does it affect DVD-V and DVD-A as well?).

  5. duilawyr October 5, 2012 at 14:57 #

    Samsung it is!!! Thanks OD and Pygmy. Off to “The Big Box Store”

  6. OxfordDickie October 5, 2012 at 09:21 #

    I've checked and there appears to be no issue with the DTS/DD streams of the disc

  7. Pygmy Beat October 5, 2012 at 00:05 #

    Plays beautifully on my Samsung Bluray/hometheatre system.
    Sounds pretty good too.

  8. OxfordDickie October 4, 2012 at 16:02 #

    There may be an issue that can cause skipping for those that use DTS/DD. I need to look deaper into it

  9. duilawyr October 4, 2012 at 15:06 #

    Hello, my players are both over ten years old, and neither play Beck Bogart; they skip (not handling DVDA-R). Anyone know a current model that does well with DVD-R. I also have many SACD-Rs, so if it is universal that would be great.

  10. teamster October 3, 2012 at 07:00 #

    Thank you O.D. and John!

  11. STLJLC October 2, 2012 at 22:05 #

    Nice, looks great. Thanks…

  12. duilawyr October 1, 2012 at 23:46 #

    OH YEAH!! Looks great.

  13. Pygmy Beat October 1, 2012 at 21:32 #

    Another classic – thanks! DLing now.

Leave a Reply

