Emerson Lake & Palmer – Brain Salad Surgery

19 Sep

Includes bonus track: Lucky Man

Release: DS202

Source: DVD-A (DW)

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

21 Responses to “Emerson Lake & Palmer – Brain Salad Surgery”

  1. António Machado November 2, 2014 at 01:37 #

    I have this vynil. In other times, I listened this a lot.. But this thing sounds much, but a lot much better. I don’t get tired of hearing this. I’m refering to the MLP encoding. Thanks for the “de-watermarking”.

  2. Jason Tovey February 22, 2013 at 20:03 #

    I hope you listen to ELP's Tarkus and self-titled debut on DVD-Audio (Steven Wilson's new mixes) before that opinion solidifies. Having the center channel reserved for Greg Lake's voice was an incredibly prudent move.

  3. Pygmy Beat October 21, 2012 at 03:55 #

    I sat & really listened to this yesterday. It doesn't go over well in a 5.1 cheapie at all. a fair bit of boom in fact. Through my quad system & AR speakers it sounds sooo much better that I won't bother playing it on the living room gear anymore.
    I have to admit that hearing Lake's voice kept on directing my brain to King Crimson & I felt the desire for their style & felt a little underwhelmed by ELP. Sounds good though & that's important.

  4. Jack S October 8, 2012 at 10:25 #

    Maybe you're right. Mine is a Yamaha that sets itself up with pink noise and a microphone. I set the crossover to the THX standard and let it do the rest. But the Quad DTS recordings don't use the subwoofer with the automatic setting. If I had to switch the speakers to Small, that would throw the whole program off. The other part of the question was whether or not bass is really non-directional, since I can clearly hear the direction in the two recordings I mentioned — Barbra Joan and Bridge Over Troubled Waters. There is plenty of bass from the regular speakers, but the subsonics would be reproduced if some were to go to the sub…

  5. Owen Smith October 7, 2012 at 16:25 #

    It shouldn't be necessary to add LFE tracks to quad releases. If your system has proper bass management it will redirect bass from the other speakers to the sub if you set the other speakers as Small. Some systems have configurable crossover frequencies, some can send bass to the sub as well as sending it to the other speakers. I suggest you investigate what bass management options your system provides.

    Personally I've turned all bass management off on my system even though I don't have a sub, the sound quality improves without bass management and the .1 tracks on Blu Rays are so overwhelmingly excessive that if I have it mixed into my main speakers it results in ridiculous over the top bass. I also got a complaint from the neighbours.

  6. Jack S October 2, 2012 at 09:27 #

    How difficult would it be to add an LFE track to the genuine quads?
    Barbra's Columbia master and S&G's as well would benefit from the
    robust bass that a sub-woofer can provide. I've only recently added
    a sub-woofer to my system and it opens up some new sounds on the
    recordings that have the .1 channel available. Barbra's “Beautiful As You Feel” has some wonderful bass in the left rear and S&G's
    “The Boxer” similarly has some deep bass vocals embedded in the same channel. I'd be curious to see what LFE would do to these. I'm a bit skeptical that bass is 'non-directional', since I can hear these elements clearly from the proper listening position…

  7. OxfordDickie October 1, 2012 at 14:58 #

    I agree, my set-up is 4.0 as i've never been able to geta 5.1 se-up to sound co-hesive, and that's with matched speakers

  8. Owen Smith October 1, 2012 at 14:35 #

    The more 5.1 mixes I listen to (like this one) the more I conclude that 4.0 works better for music. No matter what I do I can't get my Centre speaker to form part of a cohesive soundstage with my main stereo L/R pair, depsite them using the same drivers. Telling my Oppo 95 that I haven't got a Centre to get it mixed into the L/R pair isn't particularly satisfactory either, though produces arguable better results than having the Centre present.

    The one thing I have heard work on some discs is using the Centre just to support bass eg. bass guitar and drums in it. This makes a bit of sense because some sub/sat systems have a larger Centre speaker.

    I get the best results however with genuine 4.0 quad releases, either true 4 channel (eg. Tubular Bells SACD, transfers of Q4 tapes etc.) or OD's matrix decodes of QS and SQ. These all give a beautiful stereo image across the front which is sorely lacking as soon as the Centre is used.

    5.1 is for movies and TV. 4.0 is for music. I've made my mind up.

  9. Jack S September 22, 2012 at 12:55 #

    Rhino, right? The bonus track has a more robust sound
    than the rest of the album, at least in the DTS format.
    “…No money…could save him…so he laid down…and he died.”
    runs from one speaker to another LF->RF->RR->RL in the vocal
    track. It's very subtle and I'm surprised that a remaster
    could do such a thing. Absolutely wonderful waveform integrity.
    Thanks for making it available in DTS format!

  10. OxfordDickie September 22, 2012 at 12:27 #

    VinilosAcd: You need to contact me via the “wants” page, with as much information as possible

  11. OxfordDickie September 22, 2012 at 12:25 #

    It wasn't, it was remixed in 2000

  12. VinilosAcd September 22, 2012 at 12:14 #

    Thanks. From Argentina.
    I have a quadraphonic vynil (may be QS). Can you help me to decode? Then I can give you a copy… It's an old one of Hector Stamponi. Marcos.

  13. Jack S September 22, 2012 at 11:47 #

    Love the 'Lucky Man' track — I wasn't aware that it had been recorded in quad in 1970…

  14. Pygmy Beat September 22, 2012 at 06:10 #

    Thanks OD. I've not actually listened to this album until I downloaded & burnt this.
    Nicely done.

  15. dannyjl September 21, 2012 at 03:27 #

    Thanks for yet another classic!

  16. Don Richie September 20, 2012 at 04:29 #

    Thank you so much!!!

  17. Adenilson September 20, 2012 at 03:24 #

    Thanks for share !!

  18. OxfordDickie September 19, 2012 at 21:14 #

    No. Mlp stream de-wtermarked thea new DVD-A/V created

  19. Bruno Renato September 19, 2012 at 21:10 #

    Is this just a straight rip of the retail DVD-A?

  20. STLJLC September 19, 2012 at 20:54 #

    Wow. Thank you.

  21. tarkus9 September 19, 2012 at 09:45 #

    Welcome back, my friends! Awright, OD. Many thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

