Chicago – X

3 Aug
Withdrawn due to pending reissue

This is the unreleased 5.1 mix and not the original quad mix.

Release: DS114f-v2

Source: Unreleased DVD-A (De-watermarked)

Format: DVD-A/Vย  MLP/DTS/DD

32 Responses to “Chicago – X”

  1. gleeksmirt7 October 2, 2013 at 07:13 #

    Looking forward to the Quad version. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. birdycat19 July 6, 2013 at 18:03 #

    I’m well aware of OD’s situation. It was a good-natured wink.

  3. Owen Smith April 21, 2013 at 13:27 #

    The music on this is great but as happens with some 5.1 mixes is spoilt by excessive use of the centre channel. I have all the Queen 5.1 mixes and they are mostly an example of very low level subtle use of the centre (just strengthening the bass often) but this disc is the opposite and places multiple instruments and voices solely in the centre which causes the soundfield to collapse to a point, or at least a triangle with the rears. What were the engineers thinking?

    I may try listening again with my centre turned off and letting my player mix it into front left and right. I’ve tried this before with other albums and the results are rather hit and miss unfortunately, depending on what else is in the left and right I think.

    Why the people producing these discs can’t just use the original quad mix when one exists (as it does in this case) is beyind me. Among other things it’s a lot cheaper, no re-mixing required.

    • oxforddickie April 21, 2013 at 13:39 #

      Can’t say i’m overly happy with this, so i’ll be doing the quad version in the future

      • birdycat19 July 6, 2013 at 06:18 #

        Bump ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Owen Smith July 6, 2013 at 11:08 #

        Given OD is talking about quitting in another thread it seems a poor time to bump this.

  4. Allan Greenwald December 18, 2012 at 22:05 #

    I'm interested in the original quad. Looking forward to your results. Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. OxfordDickie September 30, 2012 at 08:37 #

    This is a new 5.1 mix that never saw release. I'll do the quad version some time in the future if there's enough interest

  6. E.Martins September 29, 2012 at 21:10 #

    Thanks for this! This album is fucking great! And, just to know, this is a oficial “remaster” of the original Quad Mix?

  7. OxfordDickie August 17, 2012 at 14:51 #

    'IF' the original does finally get released, then this release will be removed, although i know where you read it, and as usual it's all speculation

  8. grill August 17, 2012 at 14:30 #

    I read at another forum there is a hope that the original DVDA will be officially released. Spreading the original may be considered harmful to the possible official release. I fully understand what and why the converters have done even if the PCM to/from DSD conversions may not have been transparent.

  9. sacdtodvda August 12, 2012 at 11:37 #

    Hear, hear!

    In my case, I convert SACD releases to DVD-A because I don't have an SACD player, and it's the only way for me to enjoy these releases in the comfort of my living room.

    The files I convert come from SACD-R backups of the original releases, and frankly if you can't find those SACD-Rs, you aren't trying hard enough. The same goes for backups of DVD-As.

  10. OxfordDickie August 10, 2012 at 07:50 #

    Owen

    You know i wonder why i bother doing this at all. Just because you can play all the format, it doesn't mean everyone else can.

    1, There are only a few of the DVD-A's around

    2, The DVD-A's are watermarked,so copies won't play in most machines

    3,The SACD's were done to (hopefully) get around around that issue

    4, I released this (dewatermarked) version for ll of those people who can't play SACD's

    Stop being so bloddy selfish. I spend a lot of time doing this,for sod all!!!!!!!!

  11. lonky August 9, 2012 at 23:53 #

    5.1!!!!! I didn't think you could count that high. Could this be a new wrinkle?
    Thanks for this treat.

  12. Owen Smith August 9, 2012 at 19:57 #

    So this is an unreleased DVD-A (PCM), which was converted to SACD (DSD), and has now been converted back to DVD-A (PCM). Why all the conversions? The best option whould have been to release a copy of the original DVD-A, and failing that just release the SACD version.

    This bugs me about various sites (not this one generall). I can get album A converted from SACD to DVD-A, and album B converted from DVD-A or Blu-Ray to SACD. But the one thing I can't get is a straight copy of Album A in SACD or Album B in DVD-A. I can play both formats, I don't need conversions (and probably nor do a lot of people).

  13. OxfordDickie August 8, 2012 at 07:51 #

    The first version was a mistake on my part, this is now the only version to be considered.

    There are two mixes, the original quad version and the new mix that ws done for the unreleased DVD-A

  14. Lokkerman August 7, 2012 at 21:52 #

    THe plot gets thicker. The questions are:

    Where are the original wavs/mlps or flacs? why two versions unless there were two DVD-A's? (two mixes)

    As you are a stickler for detail (compliment) you will appreciate my questions.

  15. duilawyr August 7, 2012 at 18:42 #

    So the watermarking survived from DVD to SACD? Nasty invention. Cinavia knocked my Sony BDP 590 out of play for a week, put in an SACD-r, and FALSE FALSE FALSE!!!!
    But then those Sony Engineers updated their update, with an update just made for SACD-rs. It is surely a mistake, but while it lasts, the July 21, 2012 SOny BDP update (found in Europe) restores nuked Sonys.

  16. duilawyr August 7, 2012 at 18:38 #

    I am unable to parse this sentence. But I will say that the volume of the front LR was tilted way over to the R. I will try the new 5.1 tonight. You know the old saying, “When life serves you lemons, make Barbara Streisand The Way We Were in SQ final quad!”

  17. OxfordDickie August 7, 2012 at 15:20 #

    I was sent an SACD that had been created from one of the DVD-A's that have leaked out. I ripped and de-watermarked the resulting files and created the DVD-A

    • Ryan Talbot January 31, 2015 at 03:17 #

      is this why the highest sampling rate on the DVD-A is 88.2kHz, instead of 96kHz, which I think is what the original DVD-A was at?

    • Owen Smith January 31, 2015 at 12:01 #

      Yes, 88.2Khz is an integer division of the SACD sampling rate so it is common for SACD to DVD-A consersions to use 88.2Khz.

      And reading some of my above comments from 2012 made me cringe with shame. I don’t know what I was on at the time, and I’m sorry for having a go at you back then OD. We seem to have got past it though, which I am thankful for.

      • oxforddickie January 31, 2015 at 12:09 #

        It’s not a problem, this is a blog and is open to peoples views, after al we’re all different.

        If i do have one gripe, it’s that there aren’t enough of peoples views, as i’ve said in the past, a blog is only as god as it’s membership and a silent blog is dead……

  18. grill August 7, 2012 at 11:44 #

    I'm confused a bit. OD, could you please describe the source and the conversion route of these two Chicago X versions?

  19. OxfordDickie August 7, 2012 at 06:56 #

    There's nothing wrong with your setup, it only had four channels, hence the new version

  20. STLJLC August 6, 2012 at 22:33 #

    Now I'm wondering if I have a problem with my setup. The last file I downloaded from the first torrent only seems to have had 4.0 channels. Was the last torrented .iso file 5.1? If so, I have to do some investigatin'…

  21. OxfordDickie August 6, 2012 at 21:19 #

    It would appear that this wasn't just a 'tweaked' version of the original quad mix, but a (so-so) new 5.1 mix. So this is the full 5.1 channels

  22. Lokkerman August 6, 2012 at 20:56 #

    OD
    Could you please possibly explain what was wrong with the previous?
    Cheers

  23. duilawyr August 4, 2012 at 15:59 #

    a little off topic, but I tried to dl from another site using iLivid dl, which asked for a pw. I typed in the pw 2,176,534 times, and it just kept on asking. Had an ex wife who used to do the same thing.

  24. grill August 4, 2012 at 08:44 #

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

