The Carpenters – The Singles 1969-1973

11 Jul
A classic album that should be in everyones collection, even if it’s just for “that” solo.

Release: DS36f

Source: Q4

Format: DVD-A/V MLP/DTS/DD

17 Responses to “The Carpenters – The Singles 1969-1973”

  1. John February 20, 2016 at 22:06 #

    Even my wife enjoys this one! I’m one of those who hated The Carpenters back in the day – but now appreciate their quality and arrangements. But I always loved that guitar solo! Speaking of which, the solo felt a bit recessed compared to what I was expecting. Is that too much reverb? And some of the instrument placement is a bit weird on my ears – e.g. the drums in the left right only in place. BUT once all 4 speakers are active in a song, it all feels really good!

  2. Ron October 22, 2015 at 23:22 #

    This was exactly what I hoped it would be–me smack dab in the middle of all those Karens. Fantastic!

  3. ayjanu May 22, 2013 at 21:06 #

    Thanks for posting this; it sounds great. My mom picked up a used copy of the stereo LP, some years back, and she would have loved this. (I still have that LP – now just need a decent record player to do a proper rip of it.) I’ll be sure to set up a Paypal account and donate for the other one when I can.

  4. startrek1701 March 17, 2013 at 18:07 #

    Hello, 2 things…

    Can you suggest a way of combining burning projects. Unless I am missing something, I can only burn one iso file per disc. I wanted to combine both Carpenters discs onto a single DVD (both, combined, are less than 4.2GBs). But, I cannot figure out how. Any suggestions or is it not possible. I wanted to do the same thing with the Martinu symphonies and the Lutoslawski works. My aim was wanting to combine those titles onto a dual-layered DVD.

    The other thing is that when I looked at the seeding page of uTorrent, both of the Carpenters files state: Error: Files missing from the job. Please recheck. When I tried to burn them anyway, I then got the error message: Error: Invalid download state. Try resuming… Now, the strange thing is that I went to burn them anyway, it did not appear to have an adverse affect on their playing. They sounded fine.

    Oh, and since the incident with the Carpenters’ download, the same missing file error message just appeared on Tubular Bells (DS54f). I have not yet tried to burn that title yet.

    So, any thoughts or suggestions.

    Thank you.

    • oxforddickie March 18, 2013 at 08:58 #

      An ISO is a disc image, they cannot be combined. If you want to do what your suggesting, you’ll need to de-mux both disc’s and re–create a new disc from the files. Good luck.

      It’s hard to give an explanation as to the missing files, you need to look at the files section of uTorrent to see what is missing, ot whether the files are complete.

      • startrek1701 March 18, 2013 at 17:19 #

        Thanks but it sounds like too much of a hassel. Besides, I have no idea what you mean by “de-mux”. Could you mean de-mix? I’ll just keep them on individual discs.

        I did burn “The Singles”. I listened to all of the tracks. Sounded great. So, if there is anything missing, I cannot hear it.

        Thanks again for all of your time and effort. It is appreciated.

  5. OxfordDickie July 18, 2012 at 07:47 #

    Unplayed? not your cup of tea?

  6. duilawyr July 18, 2012 at 01:24 #

    Hey ODB, I just realized you are looking for “It's Like yOu Nevr Left”, I got that, in unplayed SQ Quad!

    “..yes, for place this must go too, not for poor one; sorry for my English…” 😉

  7. OxfordDickie July 17, 2012 at 06:46 #

    Huh???

  8. José Miguel Carnicer July 17, 2012 at 04:45 #

    Obviously, if you don´t like quad mixes this is not the place you must go. Thanks for your work again (and sorry for my poor english)

  9. OxfordDickie July 12, 2012 at 05:46 #

    Just tried it, and the link is ok

  10. teamster July 11, 2012 at 20:11 #

    Thanks for the “f” upgrade!

  11. Stephen November 1, 2010 at 22:56 #

    Thanks!
    S

  12. OxfordDickie October 31, 2010 at 21:41 #

    really sorry about that, now sorted

  13. Alex October 31, 2010 at 21:35 #

    Hi OD, did you noticed that the link to the image actually links to this page and not to the download page? (or I missed something…)

  14. OxfordDickie October 31, 2010 at 17:19 #

    Ah, you noticed. DS35 was kidnapped by the “Keep It Mono” brigade, and are holding it for ransome (they want all future releases to be in MP3 Mono) so 'll add it once i've secured it's release

  15. Anonymous October 31, 2010 at 16:55 #

    DS35 got abducted?

Leave a Reply

