Holst – The Planets

30 Apr

Andre Previn & The London Symphony Orchestra

Release: DS164

Source: DVD-A

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

9 Responses to “Holst – The Planets”

  1. Anonymous May 17, 2012 at 02:25 #

    This is one of those records EMI did right by and released as a Quad DVD-Audio. Of course, it's long OOP.

  2. Owen Smith May 7, 2012 at 12:35 #

    This is an absolutely fantastic recording. Thankyou! Mr. Preview at his finest.

  3. tarkus9 May 5, 2012 at 11:20 #

    If this isn't nice, what is? I can't stop playing it! Thank you!

  4. OxfordDickie May 3, 2012 at 07:03 #

    Afraid not

  5. Anonymous May 3, 2012 at 06:56 #

    I think 'dreamy' classical music like this really benefits from quad, in fact any 'dreamy' music does, whether it's Holst, Debussy, Klaus Schulze, Tangerine Dream, Pink Floyd, or Brian Eno (a thought: were any of Eno's ambient album released as quad?)

  6. Owen Smith May 2, 2012 at 09:49 #

    I have a Von Karajan Berlin Phil 1990(ish) recording which was always my definitive version, but the CD got scratched and jumps in various places. I've never got round to replacing it either with another copy or a different version, so I have high hopes for this DVD-A.

    I also have a Yoel Levi Atlanta Symphony Orchestra DTS CD and while the surround is great, it lacks the drive of the Von Karajan CD. The Yoel Levi does at least play reliably (and I now have it ripped).

  7. Anonymous May 2, 2012 at 07:13 #

    Superb.
    I'm a big Planets fan.
    My fave has always been the Halle version from the mid-70s, but I can't wait to hear this quad version!

    Thanks also for the recent Ravel.

  8. OxfordDickie May 1, 2012 at 07:12 #

    For me, ever since its original release, it's been 'the' planets of choice

  9. Owen Smith May 1, 2012 at 00:19 #

    I'm a huge fan of The Planets so many thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

