Bob Dylan – Desire

7 Mar

Release: DS136f

Source: SQ encoded LP

Process: SQ*Final

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP: 24/44  DTS: 24/48  DD: 24/48

9 Responses to “Bob Dylan – Desire”

  1. John February 14, 2016 at 22:45 #

    Interestingly, in terms of 5.1 mixes, I am a big fan of the more discrete the better. But on my first exposure to the quads on this site, I’m preferring the more subtle mixes. And Desire is one of these! I love this album and it was such a pleasure to sit back, relax into the surround sound field, and appreciate the trip. There are a few lyrical changes here and there, I think, but no ‘glitches’ and this one just took me inside the music in a way that I hadn’t done with this album in years. Love the clarity of the voice, and the violini just behind me on the left. Excellent!

  2. Owen Smith February 25, 2014 at 18:51 #

    As with DS135f-2 I’m reasonably OK with Dylan’s singing here, the tuneless wailing is kept well under control. And it helps that other people sing. Plenty of use of quad, various instruments panned into the rears. Amazing, I’m neutral on whether I like it or not, which wasn’t what I was expecting at all.

  3. E.Martins February 20, 2013 at 14:13 #

    Great album, great sound! Thank You Again for all!

  4. David Holmes January 4, 2013 at 10:53 #

    Thanks so much for this. The sound quality is a leap from the old version I have of this, and the mix is completely different from the CD. It's so involving, with the vocals being so clear, the violin keening way in the corner. Thanks again!

  5. OxfordDickie September 16, 2012 at 15:23 #

    Sorry, can't be done

    • ayjanu April 22, 2013 at 22:20 #

      Actually, there is a way to do it, if I may so post (if not, I apologize, OD, and feel free to deny/remove it). I’ve actually had to do this myself, since, for now, I’m in the same boat (until I can invest in a better setup; my current computer does allow for surround-sound, but I don’t have the speakers at the moment). As for mixing surround sound down to conventional stereo, Cyberlink PowerDVD Ultra allows this, and for a time, the program supported DVD-Audio playback. Unfortunately, DVDA playback was removed in version 9, so the version of PowerDVD Ultra one would need to invest in would be either version 7, or version 8 (which may require running in a virtual machine, since I don’t know if the older versions will work under Windows 7/8). There’s an option in the program to enable a virtualized surround sound downmix, using a two-speaker setup (I forget the exact wording, as it’s been a while since I’ve done this). After setting it up properly (including choosing which virtualization option you like best), the only problem that remains is re-recording the playback stream live; you would need to invest in a program that can re-record anything that comes from your sound card, such as TotalRecorder or another equivalent. After that, it’s just a matter of saving the tracks one at a time, or splitting the one long track up into individual tracks as they should be, and then you can burn the .wav files to a CD-R, just like with any other conventional stereo formats.

      One more thing: I’m running a PC, and am unaware if Cyberlink ever released PowerDVD on a Mac, or if such equivalents exist (particularly for such an old version). So if you’re on a Mac, I don’t know of any other way; my apologies.

  6. Mooheaded Boy September 16, 2012 at 15:08 #

    I hate to sound like an idiot, or an audio philistine, but I don't have the money or equipment to enjoy this in DVD audio. Is there a page someone can refer me to that tells me how to convert this .iso file to 16/44.1 for CD-R burning? I'm sure there will be sound quality loss, but it's how I gotta go. THANKS for not laughing.

  7. Anonymous March 8, 2012 at 20:37 #

    Looking forward to this ! I was lucky enough to pick up the mint SQ LP a few years ago but only wondered at the wealth of out-of-phase stereo info. on it, never having the chance to setup up and play it through my decoder….. I explained to lots of chums that in Mozambique Bob's voice was at the front centre and the female vocal (Emmylou ?) was squarely rear centre. Now we shall see 🙂
    Seriously enjoying your efforts OD !
    Geezerjem QQ 🙂

  8. Anonymous March 8, 2012 at 04:33 #

    Thanks OxfordDickie! This one is great in quad. I really appreciate all you do to resurrect these old quad gems! Hats off.

Leave a Reply

